FROM: 124.00

 130.00

 130.00

 124.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 130.00

 124.00

Product Code: 34110097

Colour:
  • Black / Black / Silver Metalic-X
  • Dark Cloud / Black / Light Onix
  • Black / George orange-X / Mimosa Yellow

Size:

Size Guide
18
Last pieces available

Select a colour and/or size to show accurate delivery options.

Standard Delivery: FREE
Free delivery on orders over €99.99. Buy now and deliver to your home.
Returns and Exchanges
Hassle-free returns to UK stores or by post

The Speedcross 3 sees an update to the iconic, lightweight, aggressively profiled trail running shoe.

The claw-like tread of the Mud & Snow Contagrip sole is still there, but it's been made even more durable to shrug off the constant assault of pounding the trails. Another underfoot improvement is the reduced height in the heel: the closer you are to the ground, the greater your stability, and stability is vital on slippery, uneven surfaces. The uppers too have had a subtle makeover: the water resistant textile is still wrapped precisely around the foot by Salomon's Sensifit system and Quicklace drawcords, but the new bonded construction keeps down the weight, cuts down on stress points in the fabric, and keeps the profile cleaner so less likely to snag. 

A proven race tuned design, made tougher, slicker and more stable: no surprise then that it's the shoe of choice for many Salomon team athletes.

Product Features

  • Weight: 626g 
  • Anti-debris mesh/water resistant textile outer
  • Mud & Snow non-marking Contagrip outsole
  • EVA midsole for cushioning
  • Lightweight Muscle Chassis for flex and support
  • OrthoLite sockliner for moisture movement and cushioning
  • Sensifit system to securely cradle the foot
  • Quicklace one-pull drawcords with lace pocket

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

15 Customer reviews for this product

 
Beware
Reviewed By Ian, 03 Apr 2014

These were really comfortable and a great running shoe BUT! I had Speedcross 2 and they wore quickly across the top just where the toes bend this happened after about a year and not too many miles, I thought it was me, I then bought Speedcross 3 and these wore even quicker less than 100 miles off road and they are worn out again on the fabric behind the toes. The fabric is not robust enough. I have now sent back to Salomon. I am awaiting a response. In the meantime, bought Fell Raisers which seem more robust uppers with same grippy sole.

 

 

 
The more dirty they get the happier they are!
Reviewed By Paul , 03 Mar 2014

These shoes love the wet dirty tracks, I've used many salomon shoes before but nothing has ever given me as much grip on the technical down hills or hanging up hill slogs as the deep cut ridges on the soles take it all in their stride. The best thing about the shoe for me is the quick lace system because if the kids are kicking off and the wife's talking about getting a new dress you can have them on and out the door running in your own peaceful world in 20 seconds. Secondly once the laces are done up they have yet to come undone or loose in the 250km I have covered while wearing them so far.

As far as wear and tear is concerned 'when they are clean' they look like they did the day I got them out the box they are well made, light and very comfy to wear. I will definitely be getting a second set.

 

 

 
Excellent in mud, snow and wet conditions
Reviewed By , 28 Dec 2013

Size
I’ve owned a few Salomon shoes of various in the past and have always found the fit to be good (obviously that’s a personal thing, but the 2/3 size step changes is a great way to find a perfect size). I thought they would not perform as well as road shoes but actually, they’re very comfortable.
Grip
As you can read from the other reviews, if you’re in deep mud, wet grass or snow this is the best on the market. The ‘spike’ set-up gives perfect grip is the worst conditions, but releases the mud easily so you get no weight build up, which is critical when you’re running. If you are on mixed surfaces then it is fine on the hard for short sections, however I wouldn’t want to run too many kilometres on the road with this one, so chose a different shoe if you’re primarily looking at street running.
Water resistance
No, none at all! I thought this would be a huge disadvantage when running in wet conditions, but if you’re in deep mud, or crossing streams that will come over the top of the shoe, this one will not ‘bucket-carry’ the water as a water-proof shoe will (so giving you a weight problem!). So, providing you’re not running in very cold regions, I’d say this will work.
Lacing
Because of the tongue construction, the shoe is not actually very easy to get on and off (especially if you have a high arch). Once they are on though, not even the most clay-based of muds will rip then off your feet so that is excellent! Maybe not the best choice for a triathlon quick change though.
Balance
I have found some Salomons to be too high in the heel for ‘safe’ running on rough surfaces – these have a good balance of cushioning, without raising the heel to a position where you will risk twists. As mentioned, on a hard road surface you do feel the tread.
Summary
Absolutely excellent trail running shoe, especially in really tough conditions. I have done about 200km in these – nearly all in mud - and they seem to be holding so far. Definitely recommend.

 

 

 
Like Slippers
Reviewed By David, 29 Nov 2013

I was recommended these from a fell runner who swore by them. I did 1/2 marathons previously but not mountain marathons. So I got a pair of these to run up Munros. Fantastic shoe, comfortable, and as grippy as a mountain boot!

 

 

 
Awesome Awesome Awesome!
Reviewed By Liam, 28 Nov 2013

These are great!! Comfy and supportive. Really hippy on the trails!!

 

 

 
Amazing!
Reviewed By Phil, 19 Nov 2013

I bought these shoes prior to running the Lakeland Trails 10k Helvellyn race. Whilst those around me were slipping and sliding, these shoes had unbelievable grip. They are really comfortable too. All in all, a great buy.

 

 

 
Say goodbye to slipping !
Reviewed By Stewart, 24 Oct 2013

I was a very lucky to recieve these aesthetically striking shoes. The tred on the shoes is unlike any other running shoes i have had and give you the feel of foot ball boots. This extremely good tred helped me to a win at my local hill run. The usual lethal route that is like ice slippery and can cause a huge dent in the stopwatch but not if you have these on! I sprinted past people feeling guilty as i passed. I cannot recommend these any more and these will help you achieve your running goal.

 

 

 
Great Shoe
Reviewed By Stuart, 06 Sep 2013

I Brought these on a friends recommendation a month before the Lake Land 50 (2013). Not having done anything like this before I did a lot of walking in them around the house and up the Malverns (not quit 50 miles).
So big day arrives and we are set to go, these shoes still comfortable and I'm pleased these were my choice of shoe, the sun didn't last too long and the rain started although I had waterproofed the shoes the thunder rain went to my feet in minuets. I continued to walk in full waterproofs up the next mountain with very wet feet, on the way down it felt like my sock was sliding off so I stopped but this turned out to be the insole had moved. For the next 10 miles each time I went down hill the insole moved forward and I had to adjust this back. When the rain stopped for a short time my feet did start to dry off.
I would really recommend these for walking around the shops, or doing an ultra marathon, walking in the peaks or off road great grip and comfortable I will be buying a new pair for 2014.

 

 

 
Great off road shoe, best pair I've had.
Reviewed By Gary, 15 Aug 2013

Done a lot of long distance off road running and they just keep going. Light weight and very comfortable

 

 

 
Trail Running King
Reviewed By James, 09 Mar 2013

Hey, welcome to the Salomon Speedcross 3,
It boasts light weight, grip and stability.
There’s no comparison with all of the other brands,
It outperforms them on mud, grit, stone and sand.

It laces up without a fuss, so don’t you worry,
You’ll be leaving for your run and won’t have to hurry.
It’s so light that you’ll practically forget it’s there,
It weighs pretty much the same as a human hair.

And now let’s address the colour, yeah I know it’s black,
But that should never put you off coz it’s all-out attack.
These are the best fitting shoes that I have ever owned,
So come on down to Cotswold and claim your Trail King throne.

 

 

 
Better than Inov-8 !
Reviewed By Max, 06 Jan 2013

Had loads of Inov8's over the years, but found the fit was getting too loose - shoe not narrow enough. So I have tried these Salomons. Fantastic - fit really well, feel at one with your feet. Great grip in the mud and when on the hard have enough cushioning (whereas with the Inov8's you feel it right away). Lacing system is also very neat with a little pouch for the ends and toggle.
So far very happy 10 out of 10.

 

 

 
Perfect all rounders
Reviewed By David, 10 Dec 2012

I have found my perfect trail running shoes! Having tried and had problems with a number of fell running shoes in the past, I am very pleased to no longer have to worry about looking any further. I started with Inov8 Mudrocks but quickly got terrible blisters from the low heel so I then moved to Mudclaws as these have a slightly higher heel. However I still suffered with sore feet and a notable lack of stability. I once crossed Crib Goch on these and it felt like I was wearing high heels they were so wobbly. I was starting to think that all fell and trail running shoes were totally unsuitable for actually climbing mountains as they didn't seem to hold my feet at all securely. However, I tried some Salomon Speedcross 3s and immediately knew I had found the shoes for me. They have a very comfortable and solid heel cup which really feels secure, the sole is much stiffer laterally so I feel comfortable edging on rock and I am a big fan of the laces which I feel I can quickly and easily adjust to always get the right fit. I have used these shoes on 4 Mountain Marathons across the UK and on a wide variety of terrain, including knee deep bogs, steep wet grassy slopes, exposed rocky scrambles and ankle deep snow. I find them excellent in all

 

 

 
I didnt buy them for running
Reviewed By Keith , 11 Oct 2012

I dint buy them fro running, simply liked the look of them and they feel great and look good to wear. I use them for cycling and in the gym, cant fault them

 

 

 
Great fell racers with comfort.
Reviewed By Graham, 07 May 2012

These replaced my Inov8 Mudclaws which I like but are tough on the feet on hard ground. These Salomon Speedcross give that extra bit of cushioning on hard ground with seemingly no loss of stability so just what I was looking for. Very well made and comfortable straight out of the box :-)

 

 

 
Very good in all ways
Reviewed By Alex, 21 Mar 2012

I found this product to be one of the best of it's type on the market. The grip is second to none which is one of it's best attributes. Plus, they are very comfortable which is also a bonus. Overall this is the perfect product for the more adventurous amongst you! Definetely worth the money and have lasted me a very long time with hardly any damage.

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help