NOW: £250.00 RRP: £300.00

NOW: £250.00 RRP: £300.00

NOW: £250.00 RRP: £300.00

Product Code: A2110098

Colour:
  • no colour
    OFFER

Size:

1
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery and Returns

Check availability in your local store

The GPSmap 62s is a ruggedised GPS for the keen outdoor enthusiast. With its quad helix antenna and high-sensitivity WAAS/EGNOS-enabled GPS receiver it has unparalleled reception to locate your position quickly and precisely even in heavy cover and deep valleys. A 3-axis electronic compass and a barometric altimeter further enhance the unit’s abilities when the going gets tough. The sunlight readable 6.6cm 65K colour screen can make full use of the supplied full GB Discoverer 1:50K digital mapping and the menu navigation buttons are easily useable even when wearing gloves.

Full GB 1:50K mapping included saving £150 on RRP.


No further offers or discounts apply to this item. This offer is available online, by phone and in selected stores, subject to stock.


FREE UK STANDARD DELIVERY on ALL orders 31st Oct - 2nd Nov 2014

Product Features

  • Weight: 260g (with batteries)
  • Dimensions 16 x 6.1 x 3.6cm
  • Screen size: 3.6 x 5.5cm
  • 1.7GB internal memory with microSD card slot
  • Up to 20 hours battery life with 2 x AA NiMH or Lithium batteries (not included)
  • Space to store up to 2000 waypoints and 200 routes
  • IPX 7 waterproof
  • High speed USB interface with USB cable supplied
  • Wireless data transfer with similar units
  • In-car turn-by-turn routing
  • Tilt compensated electronic compass
  • Barometric altimeter
  • Supports paperless geocaching
  • Garmin Custom Maps compatible
  • Garmin Connect compatible

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Staff Kit Test

Having the right equipment always helps and the 62s is packed to the rafters with technology. It’s nice and easy to use and with the 1:50, 000 scale mapping makes navigation a piece of cake

used for geocaching

By: Ben C, Tunbridge Wells store

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

7 Customer reviews for this product

 
Solid GPS
Reviewed By Reggie, 21 Nov 2013

Replaced a lost Dakota, really like this as quick and easy to use straight out of the box. Used on Dartmoor and West Scotland accurate and easy to use with gloves on. Very good value with the mapping included. Makes walking that much simpler in remote areas with a reliable GPS.

 

 

 
Does all I want and need and more
Reviewed By Carl, 30 Jul 2013

Bought this item after having my memory map stolen. It did not take me long to decide on it when shown all it's features. The one I find the best is the ability to face the display in the direction your going. This is only possible because of the ability of the in built compass.
Reading in full sun light does not even require the display to be on full contrast. Have only used it a few times yet but is proving to be easy and delight.

 

 

 
excellent gps
Reviewed By barrie, 09 Jul 2013

Purchased this as a back up to navigating with a map and compass for navigating around the mountains especially in poor conditions . I have used it a few times now and found it to be extremely accurate ,the screen is easy to see even in bright sunlight .1 50 000 maps on mini SD card , have not yet used all functions yet , however birds eye is a great piece of software which helps you visualise routes .Very happy so far

 

 

 
Highly accurate - much better than old etrex
Reviewed By Gary, 21 Oct 2012

I purchased this to replace my well used ETREX as I wanted a more accurate position fix (for geocaching) and OS mapping so that I could just wander around and make up a route as I go.
The accuracy with WAAS turned on is fantastic. To test this I stood at a point in my garden and set a waypoint. I was then able to wander down the garden (about 100 ft) and then navigate back to my waypoint - which put me in the exact same spot on the ground. The unit was reporting accuracy of 2M at the time and I was certainly well within that. By contrast, by trusty old ETREX would get me to the correct end of the garden but no better. On the downside, I was disappointed that the maps are a bit sluggish to scroll and overall I don't find the unit as intuitive as the old ETREX, probably because it just does a lot more. The Garmin trade-in was also a pain: it turned out to be difficult to get them to pay up, and as the redemption came from Germany, I lost some of the £50 in bank transfer fees.
Overall I'm happy with the purchase as the unit does the most important things well.

 

 

 
Great GPS spoiled by poor interface capabilities
Reviewed By Peter, 19 Jun 2012

I'd like to be able to give this gps a 5* rating. In use when out walking it matches or exceeds the GPSmap 60CSx which it replaced. The OS mapping is useful and an improvement on the Topo mapping which I had installed on the 60 CSx. Menus and screens are clear and informative, and easy to customise to give the information most suited to my own use of the gps. Navigation through the screens is straightforward and it didn't take long to adapt to the differences from the old unit.
Where it falls down is in its ability to interface with the MemoryMap software on my pc and download routes. Previously this was simple - just right click on the route and select "Send to gps" and that was it. With the new unit, since it connects as a mass storage device, MemoryMap recommend that routes are transferred manually, using the "Save As" command - a slightly more long winded process. It is also far more hit-and-miss with than before. Some routes transfer OK, others don't. A couple of times the route has transferred but deleted other routes already in the gps. It seems to be very sensitive to waypoint numbering, notes and other details. I am continuing to experiment and will persevere, as once the route has successfully been loaded, the gps is a delight to use. Incidentally, neither the MemoryMap or Garmin helplines have been able to offer much useful advice.

 

 

 
Garmin GPSMap 62s
Reviewed By Ian, 29 Mar 2012

Bought this to replace a lost Memory Map Adv3500. I wanted a unit with buttons rather than a touch screen and the £50 trade-in offer for my old Etrex made it affordable. Being able to press a button to go straight to the different pages of information is excellent. The information on each page can be customised as can the sequence of the menu lists. You can save several different configurations or profiles for different uses - I've saved the same options as two profiles, one setup for metric and the other imperial so when I'm walking I can just switch profiles to check distance, altitude, etc in km-miles, m-feet, km/hr-mph etc. The GPS accuracy seems to be better than 3 metres most of the time. The unit comes with worldwide base mapping with main roads named. I got the bundle with GB 1:50k OS mapping. This also gets overlaid with all street names and individual addresses and points of interest of the built in GB street map. The text size of these overlays can be adjusted or turned off so it can be used as a road satnav although it does not speak to you. The clarity of the OS mapping does not seem as good as the Memory Map Adv3500 but this may be because of the smaller screen. My unit didn't have the latest software installed but the upgrade procedure was painless. Good points - too many to list but the functionality and customisation and general usability are excellent, it's the right shape and size to hold in one hand and use your thumb to operate - and it runs on AA batteries so you can always carry spares. Bad points - smaller screen than touch screen units. Thanks to the really helpful staff at Cotswold Outdoor Chester.

 

 

 
Probably the best waling GPS so far
Reviewed By David, 12 Jun 2011

I've had various GPS devices over the years and for walking over the past few, I have used a Garmin eTrex Legend. This is the replacement (the eTrex, I have given to friend).

The fact that it comes with the 1:50000 OS maps already (on a separate micro SD card, just to be inserted), means that it is very easy to spot alternate routes when out walking and the originally planned route looks a bit iffy for some reason.

However, the very best bit is being able to scan in paper maps and use them.

So, I'm off on holiday trekking in Greenland. I have bought the paper maps of the area where I will be. I have now scanned in the area and created a JPEG file. The next step is to load up Google Earth and add in the JPEG as an overlay. (Find the place in Google Earth first, then add the overlay). The time consuming bit is to move, rotate and stretch the JPEG so that it exactly matches the ground on Google Earth. I found it best to keep changing the opaque slider to see exactly what I have done. Eventually, I'm happy.

Now click the OK button in the dialogue and this is saved in Google Earth. You now need to right click on the name of the map (in the left hand table of places) and select . Save as a .kmz file (the d

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help