NOW FROM: £199.00 WAS: £270.00

NOW: £199.00 WAS: £270.00

 £270.00

NOW: £199.00 WAS: £270.00

NOW: £199.00 WAS: £270.00

 £270.00

Product Code: 11110976

Colour:
  • Maya
    OFFER
  • Mars Red

Size:

Size Guide
3
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery Information

Check availability in your local store

The Stretch Neo Jacket is a waterproof and highly breathable jacket designed for mountain use.

The Neoshell Fabric takes softshell technology one step further. Polartec have managed to find the 'holy-grail' of highly breathable, 99.9% windproof and waterproof fabric that even has stretch built in. By increasing air exchange in the fabric it dramatically improves the active environment within the garment, users will be drier inside in a wide range of activities and exertion levels than ever before.

A simple, uncluttered design, with a helmet compatible and adjustable hood, 2 napoleon pockets with water resistant zips and 2 internal mesh pockets, means the Stretch Neo Jacket has all the features you need.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30

Product Features

  • Weight: 500g
  • Fabric: Polartec NeoShell (100% Nylon)
  • Helmet compatible hood with wired peak and roll down Velcro tab
  • Aquaguard front zip with internal storm flap and rain drain
  • Tricot lined collar
  • Pockets:
    • 2 Aquaguard zipped external Napoleon pockets
    • 2 zipped internal mesh pockets
  • Velcro cuffs
  • Hem drawcord
  • Reflective trim
  • Fit: Regular

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Staff Kit Test

I found this jacket great to wear over a muggy summer's weekend - Breathability is kept to a maximum thanks to the air permeable nature of the membrane - so I was kept nice and dry inside despite a mix of thurdery showers and warm dry periods. Basically this thing breathes like a third lung! The stretch material and great design means the Neoshell moves well with the body and doesn't restrict, even with a large pack on. Other great features include well placed waterproof pockets and an adjustable hood. Most of all I liked the fact that despite it's relatively low weight, the jacket feels nice and tough, making it ideal for a range of activities where you need a reliable, comfortable piece of protection.

used for backpacking on Dartmoor

By: Ben, South West Region store

Need help choosing? Pop into one of our 70 UK stores, or consult our online knowledge centre

16 Customer reviews for this product

 
Sizing for Rab Neo
Reviewed By Sean, 07 Mar 2014

I have been able to try on the size small in the stretch neo, but there is no medium available in local shop. The size small fits, although I have to bend my arm a little more to get it on but its fine, My only issue is the amount of room under the armpit, it feels a little tight. It is a 37 inch chest jacket and I am a 37 inch chest, 5 ft. 11 inches. Reading some other reviews, guys over 6 ft. with a 40-43 inch chest have bought the size medium and are happy with the size. Im just wondering how other people are finding the sizing of the jacket. Other than figuring out the correct sizing, its a perfect jacket in every other way.

 

 

 
A seriously good mountain jacket
Reviewed By , 20 Feb 2014

I've used this jacket in Norway (summer), the Alps (winter), Dartmoor (rainy season!) and soon Iceland (spring). It is comfortable, durable and relatively lightweight.

Don't listen to anyone who says you need Goretex to keep you dry - this works just as well stopping rain getting in but is better at stopping the condensation building up inside.

And that collar/hood combo really comes into its own when the wind is howling down a glacier right into your face...

 

 

 
Great Jacket - Ideal for British & Irish Weather!
Reviewed By Owen, 11 Feb 2014

Initially bought the Rab Baltoro Alpine jacket then read reviews and realised that the waterproof Rab Mens Stretch Neo Jacket much more appropriate for my forays around the UK and Ireland. Immediately impressed with the light weight, fit, sleeve length (I'm 6'4"), hood and apparent quality. Looking forward to trying out on Beinn Bhuidhe and other Munros next month.

 

 

 
Great Performance
Reviewed By William, 11 Feb 2014

I have just returned from a week in the Lake District where this jacket was put through its paces with, sunshine and showers, persistent rain, driving wind and snow. I stayed comfortable in all conditions while wearing this jacket. On one day I stared off wearing a base layer and another make of windproof jacket but started to overheat after about an hour. I took off the windproof and put on the Rab Neo, within half an hour the base layer was dry and I was nice and comfortable. Thanks to Rab for a great product and for the review from Ben at Cotswold SW.

 

 

 
Beyond expectations
Reviewed By Kevin, 25 Jan 2014

Wasn't sure about the "hype" surrounding this jacket, but decided to buy one to try. I was looking for a good all rounder for mountaineering, running and occasional cycling. This seemed to fit the bill.
Impressed with the fit. It is slim, but on a bigger built bloke like me, it is close without being restrictive.
Good test of the jacket the other weekend on a wet, windy route over the Cobbler. The jacket performed well. I had a 200 weight merino base layer and a Rab Boreas pull on under is jacket, and this was an ideal combination allowing excellent breathability on the uphill work. I tend to run hot, so the less than 100% windproofing helps with maintaining a good working temperature. I anticipate having to layer over on cold stops, but this is the system I use anyway, so no great changes there for me.
The waterproofing appears very good. Rain beading well on the surface. I'm not sure how durable this fabric will be in the longer term because it is lighter that 3 layer eVent or similar. Repeated use under a sack, or with harness and gear may take it's toll on the fabric sooner than one might hope. Update to follow on that?
Overall though, I have been very impressed with this so far. It has already become my number one "go to" jacket this winter.
Another quality product from Rab.

 

 

 
True All round Jacket!
Reviewed By Ryan, 10 Jul 2013

Bought this Jacket in the Glasgow store after reviewing many jackets and decided to take it to the ice wall at Xcape to test it out. Kept me just right without feeling like I was over heating.

I'm just back from climbing the curved ridge route up north as part of my Munros and tested the jacket in the wind and rain - doesn't disappoint. Very well insulated with great wind protection. The feel of the jacket is very comfortable with high quality materials, in my opinion it's worth ever £, Rab has done very well.

 

 

 
Comfortable, does everything...
Reviewed By C, 24 Apr 2013

In the mountains, on the forest trails, on the mountain bike, nordic walking - this jacket is great. You can fit a mid layer under it if you so wish, but because it has a great active cut the trick is not to over-insulate when on the move, but carry a Primaloft in your bag to throw over when you stop (maybe a generator or photon). Neo-shell is noticeably more comfortable than many other hard shell technologies.

I'm a fan of wind-shirts, only putting a waterproof on if its raining hard, but Neo-shell isn't back in the rucksack after a shower as quickly as other jackets. It feels good on due the subtle stretch and air flow.

The hood is fantastic - make sure you try it. I love the deep collar in bad weather. The raised pockets seem better than other designs, and the zips are solid and stay put.

 

 

 
Most breathable jacket out there
Reviewed By David, 20 Mar 2013

Looked at reviews and decided of this jacket, wore it for 1st time on bike ride in Jan weather with only base layer underneath head sweating with helmet on body totally dry after 16 k ride amazingly breathable and wind waterproof
Buy it you won't regret it

 

 

 
Breathable Mountaineering Jacket
Reviewed By Neil, 17 Mar 2013

A great jacket which breathes really well compared to my 5yr old Mountain Equipment Jacket that it replaces. Long arms are great which makes climbing easy and the lack of hand warmer pocket aren't a problem.

A great jacket.

 

 

 
Best jacket out there
Reviewed By j, 13 Jan 2013

I have finally given up on my 12 year old trusty North Face Gore Tex jacket and was very unsure about what could replace it. On visiting Cotswold, I tried on numerous Gore Tex jackets, but none felt quite right...too baggy, too long, too much like wearing a sowester! As soon as I tried on the Rab Neoshell, I knew it was the jacket of the future. It has what feels like a tailored fit. I’m quite skinny and most outershell jackets look enormous on me. This is slim fitting and the arm movement is unparalleled. I can only describe it as not feeling like you’re actually wearing a coat. There is no restriction and no noisy rustling of fabric.

Outside of the shop, I have had the benefit of 4 weeks of solid rain to test the Neoshell and it has been fantastic. Incredibly waterproof and breathability is second to none. The hood design is the best I’ve seen. Excellent all round visibility, which enables great freedom of movement (unlike my previous Gore Tex jacket – your head moved and the hood stayed still). It also fits very tightly and so manages to keep wind and rain seeping in. I’ve worn the jacket whilst running also and the lack of restriction and breathability have been exceptional.

The excellent fit of the jacket is probably down to the stretch qualities of the fabric, but this does mean you can’t have too many layers underneath. For insulation, I usually wear a mid-weight fleece or North Face Nuptse vest. The fleece fits really comfortably but I do look a little like the Hulk with the Nuptse vest underneath.

Overall, this jacket is the best I have ever owned. Once you try it on in Cotswold, you will see why and won’t want any other jacket.

Pros:

Pretty much everything about this jacket is fantastic (as above!)

Cons:
This jacket is pretty close to perfection, but just a couple of small things I find frustrating:
- Firstly, there are only breast pockets – nothing at waist height. I’ve taken to wearing gloves more and no longer walk around with hands in pockets! Storage of items could be an issue for some.
- Jacket length – the fit is virtually perfect but the medium is possibly just an inch too short, but I am a dangly 6’2”

 

 

 
Brilliant - so far...
Reviewed By Russell, 18 Oct 2012

I've been very impressed with this jacket so far as it's warm when you're not doing much (sitting around in a blizzard), but at the same time not overly warm and breathes when you're doing a lot (running up the side of a mountain).

It's not the lightest jacket out there, but the thickness of the material will last a lot longer than other materials (such as my Paramo Quito) without compromising breathability too much.

Only time will tell if

 

 

 
Jacket of tomorrow - AWESOME
Reviewed By Peter, 26 Jun 2012

Bought this after reviewing the market lots and lots; exchanged a different RAB shell for this and topped up with more cash - this had arrived in store the day before. I had my doubts due to the £250 price tag but I can safely and with confidence say BUY THIS JACKET.

Hardly feels like you have it on, lightweight, water just beads away - breaths INCREDIBLY well (the best ive had), great colours, all the usual RAB quality AND. .. . .havnt seen anybody else wearing one!!! (I look out of place now as the consensus seems to be North Face...??) Dont believe the hype - spend a few quid more, you will not regret it :-D (5 Stars +)

 

 

 
Great running jacket
Reviewed By Tomasz, 18 Mar 2012

I bought this jacket for trekking but I couldn't wait to wear it and started using it for everyday run and... it's amazing how this jacket breathing and keeps me warm at the same time.I'm running on the cost where is pretty windy and it's perfect for this weather.I can't wait when I start to using it in Mournes:)

 

 

 
It's all true...........
Reviewed By Duncan, 01 Jan 2012

.....what every review says about this jacket.

It really is superb. But then it ought to be for the price.

I sweat more than nearly every person I know. I've worn this in the rain, in the dry, in windy conditions, in still conditions, at 1 degree C and at 12 degrees. I've worn it for 30 minutes and for 90 minutes. All while running.
I sweated. Lots.

The only part of this jacket that was wet when I'd finished was either the outside (when it rained), or the cotton labels on the neck - which turned out to be quite annoying when I wore it 30 minutes after I'd finished running to nip to the shops............so they'll be cut out as soon as I can figure out how to do it without ruining the jacket.

I really can't believe how well this thing 'breathes'. It doesn't seem possible. But it is.

I'm 6' tall with a 43" chest and went for this in a 'medium'. The sleeves were the same length, but the medium was a closer fit - although I've just worn this out 'casually' over a medium base-layer and a fleece and it was fine.

I normally run with a compression base-layer or long-sleeve running top and it's just roomy enough to not show every bulge!

Cost a pretty penny, and worth every one, in my opinion.

If you're contemplating buying a running jacket in excess of £200 you know you're going to get a good one no matter which one you choose. Buy this one and you'll be getting The Best.

 

 

 
Loving this jacket so far!!
Reviewed By Bob, 06 Nov 2011

The temptation of having a waterproof, windproof breathable, soft shell in one jacket proved too much for me to resist. Out in the elements on the hills it has been great so far. In driving rain it has kept me dry, no leaks into pockets and the hood, once adjusted to a non-helmet head, fits snugly keeping the water out. Didn't wet out when it was rubbed by rucksack strap. It seems to be almost as windproof as Gore Tex Windstopper. None of that faintly cool drought slowly creeping through to create a chill. Working hard, with a base layer and fleece under it, took a long while to generate anything that felt uncomfortable so the breathability is good too. Pockets are huge and come nicely between rucksack straps so no need to unbuckle. Had to get used to not having pockets lower down to put hands in. On the down side, being picky. The body did seem a little bit short and the arms just a little bit long. Maybe this is geared more for climbing than hill walking? But overall well impressed, looking forward to using it all winter and retiring some of my one purpose jackets.

 

 

 
So far, so excellent. :)
Reviewed By Chris, 02 Nov 2011

I have been looking for a light water and wind proof jacket that I can wear on the hills and on my bike for a while, and after searching long and hard, I think I have got the perfect jacket.

The jacket is very light, but still feels sturdy enough to take the rough and tumble (and tumble I did) of the outdoors and the inclement weather that Scotland can throw at you. I previously had a paclite TNF jacket which I loved, but it just didn't last. I have higher hopes here.

The jacket is watertight. I saw no evidence of any leakage (and believe me Stob Diamh was very wet this weekend.) I kept my camera in the front pocket during the climb and it was perfectly safe (apart from when I used it!) I can also testify that the jacket is a high performer in the wind too. I made it to the top of the Munro wearing only the jacket and a baselayer. It wasn't the coldest of days, but the wind factor near the top in the exposed areas was considerable, yet I never felt the need for any other layers.

The large pockets are useful for maps etc and the cuff velcro in two positions is handy. The helmet-compatible hood was adjusted to stop it flying off my head during the gusts.

As I mentioned earlier I fell several times on the way down (fairly common for me) and the jacket got quite dirty with peaty mud. On the first wash the stains were not all removed, however on the second (this time with soap - no softener) they all came out fine. The jacket still appears to repel water just as good.

All in all I am very happy.

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Help Me Choose: Waterproof Fabrics

Learn why breathable fabrics like GORE-TEX ® are important and how they work plus the differences between the fabrics

Find your nearest store

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…