Product Code: 62110542

SOLD OUT

Check availability in your local store

The Talon 33 is an extremely versatile, lightweight performance pack, meeting the needs of everyone from the adventurous backpacker to the fearless alpinist.

The Talon's 33 litre capacity is great for all day adventures and overnight trips, with easy top loading and a range of stretch mesh and stretch woven pockets to keep you organised on the move. As the rucksack weighs in at just 870g, you won't be carrying any extra unnecessary bulk to slow you down, and for maximum comfort, a breathable back panel with foam air channels helps avoid sticky-back syndrome if you're trekking in warm weather. Together with the supportive harness and hip belt, you can adjust this top performance pack for the best possible fit.

A great looking, practical, all-doing daysack from the popular Osprey Talon range.

Product Features

  • Weight: 870g
  • Capacity: 33 Litres
  • Airscape, torso-adjustable back panel with ridge-moulded foam air channels
  • Bio-Stretch harness & hipbelt with ErgoPull hip belt closure
  • Top loader with single drawcord
  • Hydration compatible
  • Fixed, zipped top pocket; under-lid, zipped, mesh map pocket; zipped, stretch mesh hip belt pockets; stretch-woven front & side pockets; stretch mesh energy gel pockets
  • Under-lid compression strap; side compression straps
  • Dual ice axe loops with bungee tool tie-offs
  • Stow-on-the-go trekking pole attachment
  • Sliding chest strap

 

Sizing

  • S/M: Torso length up to 19", Hip measurement up to 32"
  • M/L: Torso length from 19", Hip measurement from 32"

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Staff Kit Test

Super lightweight, grips your body like a limpet and loads of pockets for snacks, maps, gloves etc. the Talon is a brilliant all rounder made from top quality materials by one of the world’s best rucksack manufacturers. Worth every penny.

used for adventure racing, hiking

By: Ben, South West Region store

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

34 Customer reviews for this product

 
Great Summer Pack; Falls Down Slightly in Winter
Reviewed By Mark, 01 Feb 2014

Pro's:
1) Very lightweight.
2) Straps and hip belt in particular are very comfy.
3)Hugs the body well and the very neat design makes it good for scrambling.
4) Hip belt pockets are very useful, particularly for snacks.
5) Back stretch pocket is useful for storing wet gear.
6) External hydration pocket allows excellent ease of use.

Cons:
1) Not rigid enough when empty, has a tendency to sag.
2) Lack of decent compressions straps means load sinks to the bottom, leaving unevenly distributed weight.
3) Ice axe holders aren't really secure enough as the upper elastic restraints allow the axe to swing about whilst walking and causes the axe shaft to point forwards at an angle which can be dangerous.
4) Stretchy side pockets are too tight, making it difficult to get items in and out on the move

Conclusion: Great pack for lightweight summer walking but unsuitable for winter and could do with a bit more rigidity.

 

 

 
Very comfortable bag, bit dangly..
Reviewed By D, 04 Jan 2014

Fantastic compact bag for everything with just the right amount of space for a day's mountaineering without having too much leftover. Stays solid in place when moving around and scrambling. The ice axe loops are really easy to use even in bulky gloves, as are all the buckles. The only downside is that all the loops on the outside make the bag a bit dangly and need to be tied off to completely stop snagging on the odd rock but has only happened to me once so far.

 

 

 
Light and Stylish.
Reviewed By John, 01 Dec 2013

Well designed.Light and comfortable.
a real cracker.

 

 

 
Light
Reviewed By James, 13 Oct 2013

This rucksack is unbelievably light. Great use of pockets and well thought out, especially like the hip pockets which are well suited for the popular etrex 10.

 

 

 
Love the rucksack, love the brand
Reviewed By Fiona, 30 Jul 2013

Bought this rucksack over a year ago and totally love it. It is exactly what you need in a rucksack, able to carry gear, light weight, lots of pockets, comfortable to wear. Since buying this I have bought another one exactly the same just the dark colour. One I use for work and the other I use for hillwalking/biking/anything outdoors.

Love the brand osprey, they give you such a huge range in gear, pretty much any size of rucksack you are looking for they have it.

I have 4 osprey products and my partner has 2, if buying a rucksack I would defiantly recommend Osprey.

 

 

 
Brilliant Versatile Rucksack
Reviewed By Philip, 17 Jun 2013

Over the last year or so, I've used the talon 33 for almost anything you can name; days out at the crag, extended day hikes and light over nighters (and even a couple of runs when my usual running pack gave up). Throughout all this the pack has performed above and beyond. It's supremely comfy, even carrying a heavy load of climbing gear with the slight stretch in the hip belt allowing you to really get the weight of the pack off your shoulders. When i first got the pack i wasn't sure how well it would last using such light weight materials but so far mine has proven bomb proof with no signs of ware. The various external pockets-particularly the hip belt ones-are well thought out and extremely useful for on the go snacks, stowing of layers etc. The stow on the go system which I thought was going to be just another gimmick has actually tuned out to be incredibly useful. The only downside i have found (and only for some people) is the lack of any internal compartments save for a single mesh pocket on the inside of the lid, while this doesn,t realy bother my i know some people like a bit more flexibility when organising their gear. Overall, first class design work from the guys at osprey, they've produced a (pretty much) perfect mid sized versatile day pack which I would wholeheartedly recommend.

 

 

 
Great Rucksack
Reviewed By Richard, 01 Jun 2013

Bought this as extra storage on a camping holiday and to use as a day sack.

I already have Osprey bag for mountain biking so decided to stick with the brand.

The bag had good reviews and the help I received in store only confirmed my choice.

In use the bag was large enough to store all my stuff, maybe being so large I packed too much which i then had to carry around.

I personally would have like a large opening at the top to pack the main compartment but a minor issue.

The bag was comfortable on a days hiking, my back did get hot and sweat but its was almost 30 degs hiking in the grand canyon.

 

 

 
Excellent rucksack
Reviewed By J, 31 May 2013

I bought this rucksack for a week's walking in Majorca, along the GR221, the Pedra Sec. We used the Refuges so no need for sleeping bag. Used 2 compression bags and was amazed at just how much kit the rucksack could take. Don't be put off by the apparent lightweight construction - it is strong and well made.

The walk itself was great but quite tough - the rucksack was comfortable throughout.

chose this size on the basis that it was about the biggest that would come within the Easy Jet cabin luggage limit without question.

Highly recommended.

 

 

 
Excellent
Reviewed By J, 31 May 2013

Bought this rucksack for a weeks walking in Majorca, along the GR221, the Pedra Sec. We stayed in refuges so no sleeping bag required. Used a couple of compression sacs and was amazed at just how much this rucksack can hold. Very comfortable on what was a beautiful but tough walk.

Chose this size on basis it was about the biggest that would comfortably fit within the Easyjet limits for cabin luggage.
Highly recommended.

 

 

 
Superb rucksack and great value
Reviewed By Michael, 22 Apr 2013

recently purchased this rucksack and its extremely spacious and has excellent storage features.also purchased the Osprey 2ltr water reservoir and it compliments the rucksack completely....so much so my wife has just ordered one for our trek in November to Machu Picchu.

 

 

 
very light and very comfotable
Reviewed By Max, 11 Apr 2013

this is a very good day bag. i have been able to fit all my equipment in this bag for my up coming trip in the summer i still have lots of room to fit extra peces of it. over all i cant wait to get my full use out of this bag.

 

 

 
Very Comfortable and Very Light
Reviewed By Michelle, 24 Mar 2013

I went in store after I'd seen this product online, to see if it met the standards which were set, and it did! This bag is very comfortable and the sizing chart worked out very well for me, I'm 5.7, female and the S/M is the perfect fit.
I highly recommend this product. Would have like if there was a hole in the bag for my tube of my camel sack to go through, but its perfectly fine without.

 

 

 
Very good, but don't push it!
Reviewed By Jane, 07 Mar 2013

I've been using this pack for all my mountain adventures for two or three years now, from day hikes to two-day mountaineering enterprises as well as rock and ice climbing. It's a great lightweight pack and the pockets are so handy, especially the waist ones. I really like the fit, how it distributes the weight onto my hips. When wearing it with a climbing harness, the waist straps can get in the way a bit.
Over time, I think I have really pushed this pack to its limits. I've had to be careful when packing it full as, due to its lightweightness, if you don't pack it well, it can be uncomfortable. And now, after some extreme ventures the back support has pretty much caved in. This is not a fault of the rucksack at all, but just a word of warning to those who become as attached to it as I have, that it does have its limits!

 

 

 
Great day pack
Reviewed By Peter, 02 Mar 2013

There's not a lot I can say that hasn't been covered elsewhere already. So to summarise:
- It's light.
- It's very adjustable and comfortable to wear. Being able to fine-tune the length of the pack itself is most useful.
- There are loads of loops and clips for attaching things to. I'd strongly recommend watching the videos on the Osprey site to find out what they're all for.
- The "Stow on the Go" loops for your hiking poles are brilliantly useful.

Overall, a most excellent day pack.

 

 

 
Perfect for trekking and 2-3 month travelling trip
Reviewed By Emma, 28 Feb 2013

I bought this rucksack as I wanted something to take with me to Nepal and India, which I could use as a backpack to carry all my belongings in, but also something small enough to take on a 7 day trekking trip. It performed really well and proved to be suitable for both purposes. It's surprising how much you can fit in the pack, my husband had a rucksack with the more rigid back support and couldn't cram anywhere near as much in as I could! I had been suffering in the UK with quite severe back problems so was looking for a pack that fitted well and provided good support - the different sizes (same capacity) but sizes related to people's individual sizes and builds helped amazingly well with this. The pack felt secure and snug around my top part of the body, didn't rise up too high into the back of my neck and was comfortable against the small of my bag. The pockets were all really handy and useful when trekking, I especially liked the one on the waist band for change and sunblock supplies! The material was very strong, lightweight and offered good flexibility. There were some comments by other users over the waterproof-ness of the bag, but as I had most of my belongings organised and packed in waterproof compression bags this wasn't really a concern for me. To summarise I am extremely happy with this pack. It served me very well for a 3 month trip and was very comfy during the trekking trip. I'm also now left with a pack that I know i'll use again on a regular basis for camping and walking trips. Very happy.

 

 

 
Light as a feather
Reviewed By Jenn, 24 Jan 2013

Seems to do everything I will need on the way up to Everest Base Camp on the Xtreme Everest expedition for medical research.

 

 

 
Great Day Sack
Reviewed By Greig, 30 Dec 2012

I bought the Talon 33 to replace my current North Face day sack. The fit is perfect and comfortable, especially the air vent that allows air to circulate around my back.
Overall, the perfect day sack.

 

 

 
Fits like a glove
Reviewed By Daniel, 16 Oct 2012

Bought from Betws y Coed on Sunday and went for a little walk around Llyn Idwal carrying the essentials, hot chocolate, biscuits and some extra layers for the little lad. Fit very nicely to my back and there was no movement to cause annoyance.
Great service from staff at Cotswolds in helping me find this sack.
All in all a great product which will be used lots during the next few weeks/months/years I'm sure. Will only give 4 stars for now as haven't yet been on a full walk up into Eryri (Snowdonia), but will soon enough.

 

 

 
amazing all-rounder
Reviewed By Christopher, 24 Sep 2012

great light-weight all round day or one-night pack. really comfortable and adjustable. it never lets me down!

 

 

 
Comfortable and practical
Reviewed By Colin, 17 Sep 2012

I went in store to buy a cheaper branded bag - the guy was great and didnt push this one - however when i tried it it was superb. Well worth the extra pennies for extra comfort and a very practical bag.

 

 

 
Excellent day sack
Reviewed By Hilary, 17 Sep 2012

I chose the Osprey Talon 33 because it fitted my back length perfectly (I am 5'3" with quite a short back). I have just used it on holiday where I have needed to carry via ferrata kit including helmet plus all my usual kit and 2 litres of water in a hydration pack. Although this made the bag quite heavy I found it very comfortable to carry. The hip belt is really great and easy to adjust.
All the pockets are handy and help make small items very easy to get at.
The bag is not waterproof but with everything stored in dry bags this was not a problem and it dried out really quickly.
Just 2 small niggles:
1. when the sack is full the trekking poles have a habit of coming out of the small loops at the base of the sack. With a bit of bungee cord attached to the loops down the sack I managed to secure them better.
2. the "stow on the go" system is a bit rubbish but the bungee on the strap makes an ideal extra loop for my water hose, which otherwise flops about a bit in an annoying fashion.
Overall a great sack, certainly one of the best I have used in over 30 years of mountain walking.

 

 

 
THE Perfect Bag
Reviewed By Louisa, 01 Aug 2012

I've just walked with this bag for 38 days across Spain and it met all my bag-shaped requirements! I was carrying minimal equipment but it still comfortably fitted my 2/3-season sleeping bag, liner, camera equipment, medical bits, clothes, food etc. I even managed to strap a uke onto the side.

The bag is super lightweight and had plenty of pockets. I was slightly suspicious about its claims to waterproof-ness, but this hasn't yet been fully tested.

For fitting information, I'm an averagely proportioned 5'5 female and I was more than happy with the S/M sized bag. I would highly recommend this pack!

 

Comment from Cotwold Outdoor

Posted By Web Team, 02 Aug 2012

Please note that none of the packs in the Osprey Talon series are waterproof.

 

 

 
Perfect!
Reviewed By Drew, 08 Jun 2012

Great for a 1 to 3 days trek. Took all my gear - Vango banshee 200, sleeping back, stove, roll matt etc... loads of space plus loads of loops to attach even more gear

 

 

 
Light, comfortable pack
Reviewed By Federica, 06 May 2012

I used this pack for one-day walks and found it very comfortable. It offers plenty of space. Especially, I found the big top pocket very useful. The elasticized cords for trekking poles are not ideal.

 

 

 
The best daysack I have ever owned!
Reviewed By David, 05 May 2012

This daysack is quite simpy unbelievable in terms of how versatile it is. There are the two pouches on the side which I often use for a water bottle first aid kit or something, but are also large enough to slide a map case into and the straps mean nothing is ever going to fall out of them!

The pouch at the front is quite thin so i often slide my map case into here or anything else think i may need to hand. The camelback slot is very useful and easy to use.

The main part of the daysack has a drawstring and compression strap, which are of easy use and very quick to adjust. Although it may not look like that large a bag I was happily surprised at how much kit I could fit into it - easily enough with some room to spare!

The hood has a small zip pocket on the inside with a netting so you can see whats in it, so i often use this for small random items. There is also a zipped top pocket on the outside of the hood which is again deceptively large, fitting my first aid kit, sunglasses, camera, wallet and other such items and even has a very small velcro pocket inside for loose coins etc - a great little feature.

The straps are very durable and what I love is that the waist strap is sturdy meaning you can pop almost all the weight onto your hips. Most daysacks only have very thin straps that are often useless but Osprey have exceeded themselves further with small zip pockets attached into the waist strap! I normally use them for sun cream or my penknife but they are a very useful feature.

The chest strap is brilliantly made, with an emergency whistle built into one of the clips. What I love about the chest strap is that it is sligthly elasticated on one side. This means that when tightened it still allows you to breath deeply and easily without constricting your chest which is unlike most other daysacks!

Another couple of features are some small loops on the exterior of the bag at the base for carrabiners or similar and also the small elasticated, netted pouches on the shoulder straps so a compass can easily be slotted into them.

All in all this is easily the best daysack I have ever owned, it stores everything I need and has some ingenious features showing that Osprey have completely outdone themselves to create an all round amazing daysack.

The price may be a bit more than other daysacks in a similar range but I have no regrets in buying this over the other cheaper prodcuts and would thoroughly recommend it to all!

 

 

 
THE pack for long day/overnight hikes
Reviewed By kelly, 14 Apr 2012

This brand know what they're doing. Very well thought out pack, plenty of useful space, uber-light in itself and adjustments to distribute the weight of the contents in all the right places.
Perfect size for long day/overnight hikes, where extra layers and meals may need to be stowed.
At 5'3 the S/M size is spot on for me. Unbelievably comfy, much better than my previous 25+5 rucksack of another famous brand which always felt wrong!

 

 

 
Overall pretty good
Reviewed By Geraldine, 29 Jan 2012

I had a lot of trouble finding a ladies 25-30 litre day sack to fit. Although non lady specific this rucksack fits great. Plenty of room and particulary like the small pockets on the front straps which is great for GPS/Phone etc. I like that it is light but unless it is full it sags a lot. Also it doesn't seem to hold trekking poles very well. However everything else ticks all the boxes.

 

 

 
Excelent for day trip
Reviewed By Gabriel, 07 Dec 2011

Is really good, I still belive is a bit expensive but is good quallity.

 

 

 
Outstanding pack
Reviewed By Darren, 09 Nov 2011

Bought this pack yesterday from Cotswold silverburn. Took it out for a 12 mile hike today. Very impressed. I ticks all the boxes and more. Loaded pack up with more than I needed to see how it coped. Can`t find any fault with it. It is by far the most comfortable pack I have owned. Would recommend.

 

 

 
Excellent day sack
Reviewed By S, 25 Oct 2011

This sack is super light and spacious. The fittings and adjustability make it extremely comfortable. My only gripe is the lack of a raincover, now standard on most sacks (but this is easily corrected by adding your own)/ All in all the best bag I have had

 

 

 
Great size daypack!
Reviewed By Mary, 05 Oct 2011

I bought this because I needed a slightly larger daysack but still wanted one I could take as hand luggage when travelling and it's the perfect size. Easy to cram in lots of stuff and it has plenty of little pockets. I especially like the zipped pockets on the hip belt - great for keeping money, keys or more importantly, sweets safe and close to hand. Very comfortable and lightweight too. My only minor complaint would be the lack of raincover.

 

 

 
Great all round pack
Reviewed By Maria, 01 Aug 2011

I brought this pack the other day, and have used it a few times so far. I love how much you can fit in to this pack - it can fit more than you think! I used it rockclimbing, having it on my back for multipitch climbs. It worked a gem for this purpose. The only one downfall I have discovered was while I had to haul it up a pitch using a rope, the material on the pack got a small rip which I was gutted about. The material is quite thin and does rip easily, whereas the other pack I hauled up suffered not even a scratch. Apart from this it is a great all round pack, versatile and user friendly. Highly recommend - just treat it better than I have treated mine!

 

 

 
Good Buy
Reviewed By , 24 Jul 2011

I was forced into this purchase as I could not buy a day pack that was long enough in the back. The talon with it's adjustable back fitted. £80 for a small pack seemed a bit expensive, especially as it was a bit larger than I wanted. Having bought it and had a couple of days out with it I am very pleased. The compression is good so even when it is not at all full, it pulls into a nice compact shape. The funny part though it has been hot in the Ochills so not sure how it will cope when it rains. I used it with the side compression straps inside the side elasticated pockets which took a bottle in each. So far then pleased with it, looking forward to see how it goes in the wet.

 

 

 
The best rucksack ever!
Reviewed By M, 12 May 2011

I've used rucksacks for 30 years and recently bought the Osprey Talon II33 and think it's the best I've ever used. It's extremely comfortable with the adjustable back and a perfect size for a day or two on the hills. It has good wee pockets which are easily accessible without the need to remove the pack from your back. The best thing though is the walking pole holder which is easily accessed whilst wearing the pack. I don't know of any other pack that offers this. I love it!

 

 

About the brand

Osprey

Innovation and Quality

Mike Pfotenhauer established Osprey in 1974 with the ambition to make top quality backpacks for a wide range of outdoor activities. From cycling and climbing, to backpacking and the everyday commute, the entire range of Osprey rucksacks are specifically engineered to be adapted to the challenges they will face. With modern day classics such as the Talon, Osprey has a proud, forty year history of bringing new and innovative designs into the outdoors where they can thrive.

dummy image