£195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

 £195.00

Product Code: 32110234

Colour:
  • LODEN

Size:

Size Guide
11
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery and Returns

Check availability in your local store

Solid all-leather footwear aimed at trekking leaders and mountain enthusiasts who need one pair of boots to tackle British mountains at the weekend, as well as long-distance trails in the Pyrenees during the summer. With MFS (Memory Foam System) and DIGAfix lacing system to hold your heel firmly in the boots' heel cup.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30


FREE RETURNS to any Cotswold Outdoor store

Product Features


As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

13 Customer reviews for this product

 
OK, But they don't last well
Reviewed By J, 30 Jul 2014

Bought these boots because they were the ONLY brand/model I could find at the time with BOTH an all round decently high rubber rand AND leather linings. I quickly wear holes through the fabric of fabric lined boots, in the heel area, so the leather linings seemed a good feature, but these too have worn through due to the thin-ness of the leather used for the linings - this leather then dries out, curls up at the edges of the holes and rubs up something terrible to quickly cause blisters. At least the wear rate of the linings is consistent with that of the soles which wore off the tread in the same time frame. Once the tread/studs start to get rounded off, the soles lose their traction very quickly and are lethal on damp/wet grass with any inclination. I had them resoled with a better quality sole, but then I wore the holes through the liners, as described above, very shortly afterwards, so resoling turned out to be a waste of money as the linings cannot be repaired. Essentially the boots seem to be designed to last just long enough for the original sole to wear out and that's it - a one shot use/life. Unfortunately, I'll probably end up buying another pair because there's so few brands/models with leather linings.

 

 

 
Superb Boots
Reviewed By Simon, 31 May 2014

Bought these to replace a pair of similar Meindl's that were over 10 years old. Very comfy from the first use and the leather lining is super comfy. I have done over 1,000 miles since November from daily 8 mile walk to and from the railway station, to weekends up and down Snowdonia in winter, to the national three peaks. They have been near perfect and apart from a couple of nicks in the toe and heel rand, are still in great condition. I am a stickler for keeping my kit in good condition so they get regular rinse of and then coating in boot bees wax every couple of weeks. Replaced the lining with Sorbothane double strikes, not because the original linings were not good, but because I've always used Sorbothane.
For the three peaks, the whole boot got completely soaked inside and out, not the fault of the boot but mine for not wearing waterproof over trousers and gaiters in pouring rain. Took them off in the van to Snowdon and poured the water out. When I booted up in Snowdon carpark I expected that horrible squelchy boot feeling, but no, the boot felt completely fine. I put this down to the leather lining which does not really get wet like a fabric lining would. Remarkable.
The lacing system is very precise and coupled with the tough leather uppers provides all day stability and comfort.
Used them over the winter down to about -10C on the tops of the Glyders with knee deep snow and they were warm enough. Now that it's starting to warm up, they may be a bit too warm for summer use, but time will tell.
Highly recommended.

 

 

 
Cheaper to take the car!
Reviewed By J M, 15 Mar 2013

Borneo 2 is well finished, well made, 'ball-race' lace cleats, and comfortable from first day. Not as hard underfoot as its predecessor Borneo 1 so at first I was delighted.
Vibram heel shows severe wear after less than 30 miles, none of them strenuous or over abrasive surfaces. At this rate these £160 boots will need retreading in 70/80 miles, this is £2 per mile so it's cheaper to take the car.
Had the Borneo 1 for three years, these show serious wear in two months. Perhaps the 'softer' walk comes from a softer rubber compound? Much as I like these boots they are unfit for purpose i.e. walking and they are going back for refund.

 

 

 
Fantastic boots
Reviewed By Alex, 02 Mar 2013

Comfortable and sturdy - very happy with this purchase.

 

 

 
An amazing boot, engineered to last
Reviewed By Paul, 14 Oct 2012

As someone who practically lives in their walking boots, I thought I knew my stuff. I have always chosen Scarpa as a brand and hadn't considered buying anything else, until I was convinced by a member of Cotswold staff in Leeds to try on a pair of these. Immediately I was amazed by the quality, they didn't have the slipper comfort that my previous pair did when I first tried hem on, these bad boys were gonna need to be broken in. And that has been a pleasure.
They are a proper walking boot, built to last by people who having been making mountain equipment for an eon.
I'm a few months down the line now and after the wettest British summer on memory, I can reassure that your feet will be dry at the end of everyday. The leather lining is worth the extra money. And they can be resoled, should the need ever arise, disappointingly my Scarpas couldn't be. I'm a lifelong Meindl fan, nothing will convince me there's anything better on the market.

 

 

 
Quality boot
Reviewed By Andrew, 05 Oct 2012

I recently bought my second pair of Meindl's. The 1st pair lasted a good 6 years, of heavey usage, with no complaints and being very comfortable. My second pair have so far performed well, however i have suffered some heal blisters - something that is not normal for me with new footware.

 

 

 
No more wet feet and great comfort
Reviewed By Pat, 21 Aug 2012

After a weekend of wet feet using cheap’ish synthetic boots I decided to go back a good leather.
Impressed with Cotswold in-shop boot fitting and advice. Got myself a pair of these Meindl Borneo boots. On advice from sales assistant I walked around the house for a day and then did about three miles on pavements. They did take a little bit of breaking in and getting used to the higher ankle cuff. Also got good advice on some lacing tricks that did the job.
Used them over the weekend in the Braemar (one of the days was very wet underfoot) area helping to supervise a DofE Silver assessment. They were perfect, no leaks and very comfortable, glad I went back to leather.

 

 

 
Worst Boots Ever
Reviewed By Niels, 10 Jun 2012

I've been hiking quite a lot in several types of boots, but after just two days of hiking with these boots, the pain in my heels was so bad that I actually put them off and went the rest of the way barefoot, feeling much better as soon as I did so. I later bought some sandals for the rest of the way and had no further trouble. These boots may seem good at first, but once you've walked with them for long enough your achilles tendons feel like they're about to rupture if you will walk with them much longer. These boots do have a very good grip, however, so they might be good for climbing, but that's probably all they're good for. If you want good hiking boots, I think army boots are still the best.

 

 

 
Enhanced pleasure of walking.
Reviewed By Alain, 05 Mar 2012

Your boots are major contributors in making your walks a great pleasure or utter misery. My new Meindl Borneo have certainly achieve the former. I particularly the new (to me) Digafix feature which allows me to adjust the lacing to achieve the perfect tension on the front of the foot and the ankle. And three cheers to the staff at Southampton Hedge End for their professionalism.

 

 

 
Excellent well manaufactured boots
Reviewed By Andrew, 27 Feb 2012

Very high quality build of boot with comfortable leather inner. Quality of advice in Harrogate shop was exemplary

 

 

 
Meindl Borneo L MSF
Reviewed By Jude, 25 Jan 2012

Bought these boots to replace an old pair of meindl walking boots which were very comfortable and hardwaring(still reasonable after 4 hard years of use). These have the additional feature of MSF which gives snug and comfortable ankle support. There is a solid heel and sole which gives good grip. After proper treatment the boots are waterproof and above all very comfortable even after a long walk. I have made a good purchase!

 

 

 
Best Boots Around
Reviewed By Thomas, 12 Aug 2011

I've had a pair of these for 18 months and they've been up munros, over muddy fields, out in rotten Scottish weather including two winters of snow and walked the dog over many miles. The Borneo pro's have never let me down and still look practically like new. I opted for the goretex free version and haven't regretted it. I give them a good waking after every couple of outings and they've never leaked or cracked. The fit is perfect and the comfort unbeatable. Great boots
Tom J

 

 

 
Excellent hiking boot
Reviewed By Neil, 15 Jun 2011

I bought these boots to replace an ageing pair of Brasher Supalites, they are extremely waterproof (I used a cream treatment) and very comfortable particularly when fitted with a pair of supafeet insoles. My only criticism is that they're a little on the heavy side.

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…

The Knowledge: Choosing the right boots

Choosing the right boots is critical to ensure you enjoy your outdoor pursuits. Learn what to look for including leather vs. fabric walking boot.

Find your nearest store