NOW: £140.00 RRP: £220.00

NOW: £140.00 RRP: £220.00

NOW: £140.00 RRP: £220.00

Product Code: 11110970

Colour:
  • Neptune / Lime Green Zips
    OFFER

Size:

Size Guide
1
Last pieces available

Select a colour and/or size to show accurate delivery options.

Click & Collect: FREE
Buy now and collect from store
Standard Delivery: FREE
Free delivery on orders over £30.00. Buy now and deliver to your home.
Next Day and Named UK Delivery: £4.95
Buy now and set a fixed day delivery to your home
Returns and Exchanges
Hassle-free returns to UK stores or by post

Check availability in your local store

A super lightweight waterproof jacket with ultra breathable Gore-Tex Active fabric

Ideal for fast, high intensity activities where you need durable protection combined with breathability, the Firefox Jacket is a super lightweight shell featuring innovative Gore-Tex technology.

The ultra breathable Gore-Tex Active fabric can stand up to the foulest of weather, but ensures that you stay dry and comfortable, perfect for highly aerobic, done in a day activities such as trail running, mountain biking, and alpine ascent. Features include water-resistant zips, a fully adjustable mountain hood, 2 ventilated pockets for storing your essentials and adjustable cuffs and hems for a perfect fit. An active cut and articulated sleeves provide excellent freedom of movement whether you are cycling, climbing or running. Forget the weather and focus on moving faster, harder and for longer with the new Mountain Equipment Firefox Jacket with Gore-Tex Active technology.


This offer is available online and in selected stores. Selected colours only. While stocks last. No further offers or discounts apply.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30

Product Features

  • Weight: 320g (size M)
  • Fabric: Gore-Tex Active
  • Durably waterproof and windproof
  • Water resistant zips throughout
  • Adjustable mountain hood
  • Active cut with articulated and pre-shaped sleeves
  • Pit zips
  • 2 ventilated pockets
  • Stealth construction
  • Adjustable cuffs and hem

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

14 Customer reviews for this product

 
Fantastic quality coat
Reviewed By Nick, 15 Apr 2014

I've been using this coat to train for a coastal ultra-marathon. I've worn it in some foul weather, whilst running for ten hours, and I can testify to its lightweight design, durability, breathability, waterproofness and quality. The coat comes with a printed briefing that the pocket zips are not fully waterproof, but I suspect that this is the case with most similar coats. When the hood is up and on, you can adjust various 'pulls' to make a snug fit. If I have one quibble, it's that when you have the hood down, it's a bit of a fiddle securing it whilst you're active. That aside, this is an intelligently designed coat that has is excellent.

 

 

 
Great jacket
Reviewed By Simon, 12 Feb 2014

I use this jacket for mtb to replace my older ME Matrix jacket. It has a great cut and minimal design which makes it ideal for just throwing on when the weather takes a turn for the worse. Its only downside is the way the hood is rolled down which i found to be useless. Apart from that the the jacket is bombproof and has stood up to some serious downpours.

 

 

 
Light, Bright and more than alright!
Reviewed By Daniel, 13 Nov 2013

I purchased the ME Firefox Jacket in Green around 2 months ago and what a great decision that was. I was contemplating going North Face or RAB but I can assure you, this jacket is incredible.

If you're after a gortex waterproof, this is perfect. A fully gortex jacket with water resistant zips to ensure that not even a drop of water will leak. Ive been using this for the last two months in the famous Northumberland weather and its been perfect for keeping me dry.
This jacket is perfect for light-backpacking, cycling, camping and rock climbing. Its incredibly light, weighing at 320g and literally folds to nothing. The firefox comes with a stuff sack but I personally don't use that because it folds incredibly small into its own hood and its much easier to pull out of your pack.
You have two hand-warming pockets at the from of the jacket and an adjustable hood that will work perfectly for helmets.
Overall, I would give this jacket a 10/10, If you want something waterproof, light and practical then this is definitely worth a shout.

 

 

 
Great active fit light weight jacket.
Reviewed By Simon, 06 Nov 2013

This jacket has a great cut and has being well thought out. It feels great and looks great too. The active cut means you can use it as an out and about jacket as well as a waterproof for mountain biking without sweating out of control. Great quality as I have come to expect from Mountain Equipment

 

 

 
Excellent Jacket
Reviewed By Dean, 02 Oct 2013

This jacket is by far the best, lightest, windproof and waterproof jacket you'll need, a good design with pit zips to help the breathability. I use this for cycling and gives good protection but also for walking/treking trips. A good piece of kit and also a handy bag to put it in when not in use, so can go back in your rucksack.

 

 

 
Spot on
Reviewed By Gavin, 12 Mar 2013

Had one for about 6 months, its been with me on six munro's so far. Great jacket, very breathable (zip pits help), looks very smart with the red zips, it has nice big pockets and hood. Material seems very durable, my ice axe got caught on it, thought I heard a ripping sound but not a mark.

 

 

 
Good jacket but it may not be right for you
Reviewed By Tom, 03 Mar 2013

This jacket is extremely lightweight and the 'Active Shell' doesn't feel hugely durable. The hood unfortunately does not pack away so is always flapping around at the back, this is the biggest problem with the jacket.

Nonetheless, the pockets are a very good size and is an absolutely brilliant piece of kit, but do think about whether you want this or something slightly more durable.

 

 

 
Excellent shell
Reviewed By Thomas, 27 Sep 2012

I actually bought this for a 100 mile bike ride with the upcoming weather looking a tad inclement. I wasn't sure if the cut would work regards to offering enough back cover whilst cycling but I was surprised. We ended up going through 4 hours of solid rain with another 30 mins of hale. My core was still warm and dry and the breathability of the fabrix was such that having it next to my skin was comfortable. Very impressed with thus jacket and it can pack away into the bag provided tightly taking up very little space. I found using it off the bike to be very functional and would happily recommend to anyone.

 

 

 
Short Review
Reviewed By Master, 25 Jun 2012

Awesome !!!

 

 

 
well thought out jacket
Reviewed By Alex, 10 Apr 2012

ME have done well with the design of this jacket, it's geared more towards climbing than any other activity due to the 2 alpine pockets are very useful indeed, but the venting aspect of them does have a tendency to let in cold. The storm zips are very slick to use compared to others. The cut of the sleeves and chest give a lot of freedom of movement and good space for layers underneath. The main drawback of this jacket I have found is the gore tex, it has de-laminated alarmingly fast and gets clogged easily. The hood isn't very effective and is actually quite uncomfortable to wear. The size and weight of this smock make it a very attractive option for low weight ascents, but again the low weight has the effect of lessening the waterproofing to some extent, I have had water seep into my midlayers whilst wearing this smock..

 

 

 
Functionality in style
Reviewed By Scott, 30 Dec 2011

Another quality, well designed piece of kit from Mountain Equipment: Super lightweight and packs down to not much larger than a drinks can without compromise on functionality. The new Active Shell fabric is extremely breathable for those steep mountain hikes (though I found I still needed the pit zips when trekking with a heavy load), yet the GORE TEX fabric lives up to its reputation when faced with driving wind and rain (we’re talking 50mph+ here).

The mountain hood fit my helmet no problem and is easily adjusted by pulling the elastic cords without having to fiddle around with the plastic adjusters, which is handy when wearing gloves. The hood is also sturdy in high winds when adjusted snug despite the lightweight fabric. The two pockets are large enough to get your map in but they are partly mesh lined so you’ll need a little plastic bag in them if before you put your wet gloves in.

All in all a great piece of kit for the price that will hold out in the worst conditions with a fit and style that’s just as good for wearing around town.

 

 

 
Perfect for running
Reviewed By Mark, 08 Sep 2011

I have been searching for a waterproof jacket for running but they either tended to be waterproof but quite a heavy weight or were lightweight but only windproof - until now! I was lucky enough that my wife bought it me for my birthday even though I felt a little guilty at the price tag. I wore it for the first time the other day on a three hour run on Kinder Scout and even through some pretty tough exertion the jacket breathed perfectly not once feeling saturated and kept the wind and rain (pretty heavy at times) out at all times. The cut of the jacket is perfect, nice and fitted around the torso which didn't once ride up the back under the running backpack whilst the cut of the arms provided unrestricted movement even when scrambling up the side of a mountain or arms flailing to keep balance on the run back down. I only have a small head and can sometimes have problems getting hoods to fit properly but the hood of this was easily adjusted to fit snuggly and even whilst 'on the hoof'! I would say this jacket is worth its weight in gold but it doesn't weigh enough!!

 

 

 
Very light and waterproof
Reviewed By Gwyn, 23 Aug 2011

I purchased this jacket to compete in the TransAlp Mountain bike race in the Alps and on the 2 days conditions were awful the jacket combined with a fleece were perfect at altitudes of 2000m. However I used this jacket to climb Tryfan in North Wales on a day that it rained non stop and although I stayed dry and warm the jacket material really seems to climg on to the wetness on the outside and stayed wet for ages unlike my wife's Rab goretex jacket which seemed to dry instantly once out of the rain and given a good shake. If the fireforx had the same surface repelent of other goretex jackets I'd have given this a 5 star review.

 

 

 
Featherlight jacket
Reviewed By Ashley, 26 Jun 2011

If you're someone who gets hot and sweaty when wearing waterproofs then this is the jacket for you. It is so light you really have to see it to believe that it's 3-layer goretex! The jacket also has pit zips to help you regulate your temperature. The description says it's good for "done in the day" activities and although most people will ogle the high end mountaineering jackets suitable for the high himalaya I would say this jacket is perfect for 90% of British scenarios. A real breakthrough in the world of sweaty waterproofs. Well done Gore and Mountain Equipment.

 

 

About the brand

Mountain Equipment

Above and beyond since 1961

Mountain Equipment has been making top quality expedition clothing and equipment for over fifty years. They work with pro athletes, mountain guides and Sherpas the world over to create a range of equipment that can stand up to the most challenging conditions in the most remote areas. They have played a part of every British first assent over 8000m and have reached the summit of Everest more than 175 times.

dummy image

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…

How to: Look after waterproofs

Here Andy gives you some tips on how to get the most from your waterproof garments

Find your nearest store