£160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

 £160.00

Product Code: 61110354

Colour:
  • Midnight Blue
  • Bonsai Green
  • Arroyo Red

Size:

Size Guide
6
Last pieces available

Select a colour and/or size to show accurate delivery options.

Click & Collect: FREE
Buy now and collect from store
Standard Delivery: FREE
Free delivery on orders over £30.00. Buy now and deliver to your home.
Next Day and Named UK Delivery: £4.95
Buy now and set a fixed day delivery to your home
Returns and Exchanges
Hassle-free returns to UK stores or by post

Check availability in your local store

A classic pack for overnights to extended trips, the Osprey Aether 70 is also a staple of alpine endeavours.

Lashed securely to your back with NeoSpacer harness system and IsoForm CM hipbelt, the Osprey Aether 70 Rucksack is a really comfortable carry. Although sized for different back lengths, the Airscape back is adjustable within those sizes to ensure a close, comfortable fit.

As well as the large main compartment - which is accessed either through the top or through a front zip-panel - the pocketed lid is removable and forms a convenient lumbar pack, and the base of the bag has an access zip with a removable divider, forming a sleeping bag compartment.

To ensure all that carrying capacity works in conjunction with the harness, Osprey's Straight Jacket compression system tightens the load firmly into place.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30

Product Features

  • Weight: 2290g (Size M)
  • Volume: 70 Litres (Size M)
  • Curved IsoForm CM hipbelt
  • NeoSpacer mesh harness system
  • Airscape backpanel
  • Convertible top pocket/lumbar pack
  • Raincover
  • Stow-on-the-Go pole attachment
  • J-zip panel access
  • Zipped base compartment with removable
  • divider
  • StraightJacket compression
  • Internal load compression
  • Zipped hipbelt pockets
  • Stretch woven side and front pockets
  • Twin ice-axe/pole attachment
  • Removable sleeping pad
  • straps

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

9 Customer reviews for this product

 
upgraded from previous model
Reviewed By Peter, 05 Dec 2014

I own several Osprey rucksacks and have a 12 month or more Aether 70 still good to go. I decide today in Covent Garden store London to buy the slightly upgrade Aether model. because I have trekked 800 km at a time on long distance ventures.smart looking bag good profile when worn, Quality counts and the Aether 70 stands up to the task all day everyday...it is always better to own a few bags fit for purpose rather than trying to use a bag to suit all situations,and Opsrey have some of the best...I use the Aether for demanding backpacking and long distance camping and walking treks...unlike a fashion item the Osprey do look smart and professional just like the service time after time at Cotswolds .I visit many Cotswolds stores. and have a healthy respect for there knowledge and care on kit selection...so To Covent Garden store Thank you again as alays

 

 

 
An Excellent Pack
Reviewed By Craig, 28 Aug 2014

This was not the pack that I originally set out to buy, or the amount I was looking to spend, but after trying various packs from different brands, this one stood out by some way. It was a good fit off the shelf and easily adjustable.

With a wide range of features on a pack like this, there will always be some that you find useful and some deemed no more than a bit of a "gimmick, and will divide opinion. However, personally, I found that top pocket swallows a load of gear, and on a longer backpacking trip, the fact that it floats is a bonus when packing extra gear. The two small pockets on the hip belt come in handy for holding trail snacks and a small camera. Most packs these days are hydration compatible, and the external compartment swallowed my Camelbak with ease.

After a week in the Lake District carrying a full load, this proved to be an extremely comfortable bag. The hip belt adjusts easily and after a while molds itself to your back, giving you the perfect fit. This can be done in store but after a few hours of use, it sorts itself out. Fine adjustments to the shoulder straps enable you to pull the load in tight, or loosen it off, dependent on the terrain and the side compression straps keep everything tight. The back-mesh system won't keep your back completely dry, as you'll always perspire when carrying a load, but it is comfortable and better than other bags I've used.

There was a minor problem with the stitching which pulled away slightly, but cannot fault the Customer Service from the excellent staff at the Watford branch, who exchanged the bag without any fuss.

All in all this is a very comfortable pack to carry and despite the minor issue with the stitching mentioned above, I am very happy with the purchase.

 

 

 
Great size
Reviewed By Kim, 29 May 2014

I bought this for my son to travel to australia. Thanks to the lovely young lady in the shop she gave us sound advise as to the best option for travelling long distance and durability. Thankyou

 

 

 
A Man's Best Friend
Reviewed By Andrew , 22 Sep 2013

I bought this bag for my Gold D of E and it has stood up to far more than I expected. Admittedly I own the older version of this bag but the minute improvements are exactly what was needed. Firstly the hip-belt pockets which are the most useful invention since the wheel. Being able to have things close to hand such as snacks or a camera is a god send. So much so that I have attached pockets to my old bag.

The other improvement is the external hydration pocket which is exactly what this bag needs. When using this pack in the Lake District I had to empty my top layer of kit to remove the Osprey Hydration reservoir (Which is a must for these packs) having the hydration pocked on the outside solves this problem.

In terms of comfort this bag is second to none. The IsoForm hip belt is very comfortable and quick and easy to mold in store. Very helpful staff who recommend you come back and get it remolded every now and again free of charge.

The bag very comfortably carried around 30kg without and problems. I was afraid one of the straps would break or the stitching would rip, but after a full week of trekking it is in perfect condition.

The access to this bag is well thought out, separate compartment for sleeping bag and/or clothes and a J zip across the centre to gain access without having to open the top. Side compression straps are perfect for securing poles. And the stow and go, which consists of two loops for storing your poles as you walk, works perfectly and so far has held onto my poles without incident.

Top pocket is large enough to store all the bits and bobs you need. and the mesh back pocket is useful for quickly stowing any odd little bits, usually rubbish in my case.

If there is one downfall to this bag it would be the lack of side pockets in place of the mesh pockets. Just a personal preference but I like having that additional outside the main compartment.

Overall a must buy for any excursion. Has seen me through the Brecon Beacons, the Lake District, High Pyrenees, and i'm taking it to the Caingorms next Easter!

 

 

 
Such a worthy upgrade...
Reviewed By Abel, 20 Sep 2013

So originally I had a Berghaus Torridon 65 rucksack, which although fine as a starter expedition pack for more occasional use, I never really felt was sufficient for what I wanted to do. Trouble was, I didn't have the cash for an Osprey. Fast forward 2 months and I have saved up, gone to the Birmingham store (very helpful and knowledgeable staff) and got my bag fitted and custom moulded. After many trips around the Brecon Beacons, the Malverns and other places in Worcestershire, I can say it is an excellent multi day pack. However,I think that for my purposes, which is usually no more than 4 nights, it is too big. It says it is 70 litres, but the large size is more like 85! And obviously this comes with a weight penalty. I am definitely going to keep this bag, but may get a lighter Kestrel series as well to complement it, for smaller strips where I want to go more lightweight. I think for a heavy duty expedition, it is 5 stars, but for my purposes because of the size and weight, I shall give it 4.

 

 

 
Swiss Army Knife of bags
Reviewed By Julien, 25 May 2013

I first took a look at this bag and thought it looked a bit expensive, but one of the helpful sales assistant at the Windsor shop helped me discover all the hidden features. The great thing about this bag is how functional it is. Large enough to carry a lot of stuff, but ergonomically designed so the weight is evenly distributed to your hips as well as shoulders. It has loads of little side pockets which are easily accessible, straps so you can tighten the bag when you have a small load, a rain cover in case it pours it down and it has a detachable bag which you can unstrap and take with you during the day. I also bought the optional water reservoir which you can tuck in right behind the back piece. Having bought it from the shop, I took the opportunity to get the hip strap to be custom fitted which was done there and then at no extra cost and took no longer than 10-15 minutes to do.

 

 

 
Very Happy
Reviewed By TOM, 21 May 2013

Got this for my year in NZ, and have been trying it out on multi day walks and wild camps in Scotland and Wales. Plenty of room, easy to use, very happy. The ability to compress the bag right down when you are only carrying half the kit is great.

 

 

 
Great bag
Reviewed By Max, 15 Feb 2013

easy to use. light weight and very good fit. the ability to be able to have a hydration bladder in the bag is grate no stopping to have a drink. i know of add least 3 people who have this bag and all with great feedback cant wait to see how it hold up on my expedition to Tanzania this summer

 

 

 
v comfortable.use the fitting service for size
Reviewed By peter, 01 Feb 2013

I own several osprey rucksacks and this one ticks all the boxes....free in service hip belt moulded while you wait, and very comfortable, also there is a extra j shaped zipped entrance which makes life simple.perfect

 

 

About the brand

Osprey

Innovation and Quality

Mike Pfotenhauer established Osprey in 1974 with the ambition to make top quality backpacks for a wide range of outdoor activities. From cycling and climbing, to backpacking and the everyday commute, the entire range of Osprey rucksacks are specifically engineered to be adapted to the challenges they will face. With modern day classics such as the Talon, Osprey has a proud, forty year history of bringing new and innovative designs into the outdoors where they can thrive.

dummy image

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…

Help Me Choose: Backpacks

Looking for a large rucksack? See what different features are important when choosing and find out how to ensure a good fit

Find your nearest store