FROM: £30.00

 £30.00

 £35.00

 £35.00

 £35.00

 £30.00

Product Code: 3D110037

Colour:
  • Black
  • Dark Shark

Size:

Size Guide
3
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery and Returns

Check availability in your local store

Waterproof hill-walking and mountain gaiter.

Traditional hill and mountain gaiter in waterproof and breathable eVent fabric. Ballistic polyester adds durability and strength where needed and full front zip and storm flap provides weatherproof protection.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30


FREE RETURNS to any Cotswold Outdoor store

Product Features

  • Weight: 250g
  • eVent fabric outer
  • 600D Ballistic polyester ankle
  • Elasticated ankle
  • Front zip closure with protective Velcro flap
  • Rubberised abrasion resistant underboot strap
  • Drawcord top closure
  • Traditional lace hook
  • Reflective piping detail

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

19 Customer reviews for this product

 
Good, but flawed
Reviewed By Sam, 20 Feb 2014

The gaiter looked good and performed well in conditions from snow to thick mud.

The down side i found with these is that the top elasticated drawstring didn't tighten the top enough so they slipped down and ended up like a doughnut around my ankles. this was soon fixed buy length of elastic sewn on by my amazing mother so they now fit perfect and i love them.

But as i said, the top of the gaiter never really seemed to be tight for me, might be my chicken legs, but no matter what size i had, they seemed to end up around my ankles

 

 

 
Top gear for great price.
Reviewed By Rhydian, 23 Jan 2013

Bought as ones that fitted me in store. £30 cheaper than goretex etc. I have abused these gaiters, still coming back for more! With recent snow very comfy. no snow leaked into my boots or up my leg. As with Adrian above, pop stud fastner was a pain. However do the gaiters up in sequence. Strap under foot arch. Wrap gaiter around, zip slightly and push lower press stud in. hook on lace then zip up and press velcro tight. then upper stud pressed in hard. Finally elastic on calf slightly tight. if the press stud pops, its TO TIGHT!

As I said top kit.

 

 

 
Converted in spite of myself
Reviewed By Matt, 21 Jan 2013

Initially I was wary of buying gaiters as they semed very expensive for relatively little gain. However I borrowed a pair of these on a mountaion leader training course and was soon converted. Despite repeatedly ending up between ankle and knee deep in muddy bogs my legs stayed perfectly dry and didn't overheat on strenuous climbs either. I imediately got my own pair after the course and they have kept me dry in all sorts of conditions where even my waterproofs have struggled. Really great bit of kit I never thought I'd need

 

 

 
Great gaiters!
Reviewed By Michael, 05 Jan 2013

Comfy and easy to put on/take off - I'm impressed. I've only used them a couple of times in 12C, but they kept me dry and they weren't too hot.
They fit me well and you don't have to have the drawstring at the top too tight to make them stay in place. I like the zip and Velcro closure too. Money well spent so far...

 

 

 
Rab Hispar, The Greater Gaiter!
Reviewed By Geraint, 04 Jan 2013

I do a lot of x-country walking volunteering with a lowland SAR team. I've always steered clear of gaiters in the past trying to keep kit minimal and simple for speed and ease but recently following a couple of very wet and boggy training sessions and call-outs decided I needed better protection! Has anyone else noticed the moist Winter we've been enjoying?! A few of the team have these particular gaiters and recommended them highly so I treated myself for Xmas. Thankfully New Year was quiet so I haven't had a chance to test them on active service yet but they are quick and easy to fit, neat over the boot and most importantly, breathe really well. Lowland search can be surprisingly active such that I usually only wear a polo shirt under my hi-vis even at this time of year, you soon warm up! These let my sweaty calves breathe away no problem! Never thought I'd say this but I am now a converted gaiter-user and these bad-boys made it happen! DON'T FORGET TO ASK FOR YOUR SAR DISCOUNT!!!!

 

 

 
Excellent, Very Breathable & Waterproof
Reviewed By philip, 07 Dec 2012

I bought these recently to replace another set of Gortex gaiters that had started to fall apart after only moderate use. I have only worn them once but I was really impressed, they are very breathable and after a strenuous walk my trousers were bone dry so no sweat had pooled on the inside unlike my old Gortex pair. The only part that did suffer from this was behind the storm flap at the front which is outside the zip so not against your legs. It had been raining heavily and the ground was saturated these kept me dry and were extremely waterproof. The gaiters appear very well made with no raggy stitching etc, time will tell but it appears that these will last me for some time.

 

 

 
Another quality Rab product
Reviewed By Nathan, 04 Dec 2012

Dry lower legs and dry feet = happy hiking! Comfortable, breathable and do exactly what you expect from a gaiter in wet boggy conditions.

 

 

 
Room for improvement
Reviewed By Adrian, 04 Oct 2012

What would otherwise be an excellent product is let down by cheap press stud fastenings which come undone far too easily. There is an obvious design flaw in positioning them by elasticated draw strings which pull them open

 

 

 
Room for improvement
Reviewed By Adrian, 03 Oct 2012

Potentially an excellent product but someone has decided to cheapskate by fitting poor quality press stud fastenings which come undone too easily. It's a design fault associated with the positioning of the elastic strings. A heavy duty press stud would fix this problem.

 

 

 
Greater Gaiter
Reviewed By Greg, 27 Aug 2012

Superb fit round the ankle, great construction. Sturdy entry zip and easy adjustment round the top of the calf. Saw these online and thought looked flimsy but they are the equal of my old Mountain Hardwear gaiters. Really good value too.

 

 

 
Worth every penny!
Reviewed By Sarah, 22 Aug 2012

I cannot believe the difference these make to the comfort of my feet! My hiking boots fit better than ever and I can walk for longer thanks to the support they give my feet, and the way they correct my over-pronation; I've also got a pair for my trainers which I use in the gym and out jogging.
I wouldn't have bought them without the fitting advice of the Cotswold assistant - having never worn orthotics I didn't know what to expect and what I thought was the wrong shape was in fact the necessary arch support. I'm glad I followed his advice!

 

 

 
Excellent Gaiters
Reviewed By Matthew, 23 Jul 2012

Very impressed with the performance of these gaiters, especially the breathability. Had an extreme test in the Silverstone mud but on a sunny, hot day. Expected to have some dampness around the calf but nothing at all after a full day walking around. In fact thay are so comfortable you forget you have them on. Really satisfied, great product.

 

 

 
Exceptionally breatble, incredibly waterproof
Reviewed By Adam, 26 Mar 2012

I don't often write reviews unless I am completely satisfied with the product, and this is one of those occasions. I bought these for my recent weekend trip to Snowdonia as I often get water into the top of my boots and mud all up my legs. Although the weather was superb with temperatures around 20C the gaiter coped tremendously well as I walked The Glyders. Having accidentally put my base layers on as well the gaiter showed no sign of condensation on the inside, and my legs were not too hot showing that they really are incredibly breathable. They are also very waterproof since I trudged though some deep bogs and still remained happy and dry. The fit of these are also very good, just make sure you have a pair of scissors handy to cut away the excess rubber of the boot strap and you're good to go. If you are wanting a reasonably priced pair of gaiters for scrambling and general hill walking then these are definitely the pair to go for. They're simply fantastic.

 

 

 
Forgot I had them on
Reviewed By Clive, 08 Mar 2012

I am a stickler for reading reviews before a purchase and these came out top in the "Trail" review covering the whole of 2011, published March 2012. Bought them and tried them out on a very muddy pathe through the Brecon Beacons to the summit of Fan Frynach which involved traversing a bog and many streams.
As others have said there is no condensation internally and you do not feel trussed up. They have been criticised for being shorter than other gaitors but I found them to be calf fitting, in other words the top draw string came at the top of my calf muscle which meant zero slippage through the walk.
Fastenning is by studs at top and bottom and a zip full height with a flap over the zip fastened by vecro.
Return home saw them washed under the outside tap and left indoors to dry naturally.
There is always the added cache of having the "Rab" logo on the front of your shin while walking.

 

 

 
Surprisingly good!
Reviewed By Sarah, 02 Mar 2012

I hate feeling trussed-up or overheated, so I have resisted using gaiters for ages. I finally gave in a couple of weeks ago and I'm pleasantly surprised: comfortable, fitting without being tight, didn't get hot and bothered and there was no sign of condensation on the inside. I'm impressed.

 

 

 
Robust, quality Gaiters
Reviewed By Chris, 16 Jan 2012

These gaiters are superbly performing products. They are lightweight, easy to get on, adjust and then get off...not to mention to clean when you get home. They offer awesome breathability through the eVENT material - without losing the waterproof/robust usability. 3 of my family use these and we have been extremely pleased with them. 5Star recommend.

 

 

 
Best EVER gaiters
Reviewed By Adrian, 02 Oct 2011

These are the greatest ever. Waterproof and very breathable with eVent fabric, comfortable and even stay up with just shorts on. I wore these on a hot day with muddy conditions and although I was sweating my n*ts off when I got back to the car the inside of the gaiters were bone dry, very impressive.

 

 

 
good fit and very breathable
Reviewed By alice, 08 Sep 2011

really good alround. I was able to wear them all day they were so comfortable.

 

 

 
Great fit.
Reviewed By Victoria, 16 May 2011

Well fitting comfortable gaiter. Keeps your feet dry and doesn't seem to slip down.