NOW: £239.00 WAS: £300.00

NOW: £239.00 WAS: £300.00

NOW: £239.00 WAS: £300.00

Product Code: 11110977

Colour:
  • Black
    OFFER

Size:

Size Guide
1
Last pieces available

Select a colour and/or size to show accurate delivery options.

Click & Collect: FREE
Buy now and collect from store
Standard Delivery: FREE
Next Day and Named UK Delivery: £4.95
Buy now and set a fixed day delivery to your home
Returns and Exchanges
Hassle-free returns to UK stores or by post

Check availability in your local store

This fully featured, technical jacket from Rab provides optimum protection from the elements combined with high durability and an extremely ergonomic fit.

The Latok Jacket is engineered with 3 layer eVent fabric, a waterproof and breathable membrane that uses direct venting technology to move moisture away from the body so that you stay dry inside and out. It is a top-of-the-range waterproof mountaineering jacket that makes best use of the fabric for durability, weather protection, weight and breathability without compromising performance. Ample storage options include two chest pockets and a Napoleon chest pocket as well as two internal zipped mesh pocket to keep your valuables secure.

Pit zips add an extra ventilation option for when you are working really hard. A storm flap, YKK Aquaguard zips and rain drains ensure that the wet doesn't get in and adjustable cuffs and hem drawcords enable a snug fit. Round this off with a helmet compatible hood with a wired peak to keep the rain out of your face and there's not a lot more you could ask.

The Latok Jacket is designed for the most extreme conditions in the world and has been thoroughly put through its paces by climbers, arctic travellers and mountaineers to ensure unrivalled performance.


FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY 20 - 23 November 2014

Product Features

  • Weight: 740g
  • Fabric: eVent 3L (100% Nylon)
  • Helmet compatible hood, wired peak, roll down Velcro tab
  • 2-way Vislon front zip, external & internal storm flap, rain drain
  • Pockets:
    • 2 Aquaguard zipped A-line chest pockets
    • 2 Aquaguard zipped Napoleon pockets
    • 2 zipped internal mesh pockets
  • Venting underarm Aquaguard pit zips
  • Velcro cuffs, hem drawcord
  • Waist drawcord
  • Reflective trim
  • Fit: Regular

 

 

- Midweight and heavyweight 3 layer eVent fabric

  • Highly durable
  • Helmet compatible hood with wired peak and roll down tab
  • 2-way YKK Aquaguard front zip
  • Storm flap and rain drain
  • 2 chest pockets
  • 2 Napoleon pocket with YKK Aquaguard zips
  • 2 Internal zipped mesh pocket
  • Venting YKK Aquaguard pit zips with rain drain points
  • Adjustable Velcro cuffs
  • Reflective trim for visibility
  • Double exit hem drawcord
  • Double exit waist (in pockets) drawcord
  • Medium cut


  • As an alternative, you may prefer.....

    Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

    11 Customer reviews for this product

     
    Rab Latok Alpine Jacket (Hard shell) Review
    Reviewed By jo, 04 Jun 2014

    My Initial thoughts:
    I bought this jacket around November time for Scottish winter conditions. Event material has got good reviews for breathability which is important for me for the big Scottish walks ins. I looked at a few hard shells, but the Rab Latok Alpine was the one I choose. It has a good range of pockets for maps and compasses and snacks. Some good online reviews.
    The new Jacket:
    On wearing the jacket it fits well, the 3 layer eVent material felt impressive in it flexibility allowing for a great range of movement . The jacket features are good . Hood works well with and without a helmet, good deep pockets. No problems with the design.
    On use:
    The jacket went on my annual trip to Scotland for 2 months, it held up well for the first 2 weeks of driving rain, but that was it. The water proofed zips are water a little bit of resistance zips! I noticed dampness which I initially put down to leaving zips slightly open but I soon released this was increasing on the upper side of my arms and there was dampness on my fleece mid layer, I could put this down to just sweat it was very localised particularly on my on my arms. The external pockets had collected water I was expecting to find water in the pockets but eVent is not that good so the water just drains!
    The jacket performed well technically. High winds on the in Scotland on the Ben it did the job and it nicely fits around the helmet this being very comfortable not covering half my face as hood can do. Good wind proofing generally particularly around the hood area protecting those vital organs! But the jacket in eVent in heavy rain does tend to struggle! So treat it in Nikwax and you might just get a day out of it.
    One of the problems seems to me with eVent is it lack of resistance to abrasion. Any wear on the material surface you can forget water proofing.
    So, after 2 months of near continuous use I would say the jacket technical side performs well but the material lack the hard tough properties required for a full winter jacket .

    My background
    Joe Begley Mountain Instructor working freelance, guiding, teaching multi pitch climbing, navigation, MLs etc. So I use my gear to the max. I buy new kit every season but expect kit to get a season out of it. So when I buy a winter jacket , it would be nice that it lasted a season! www.mountaineeringjoe.co.uk

     

     

     
    don't know how to survive with out it
    Reviewed By alex, 01 Dec 2013

    I bought this to use when out backpacking and climbing but I also wanted to use it as an every day coat. It has exeeded my expectations as it is extremly breathable but still very very waterproof, it is very hard waring and you don't need lots of expensive soaps to clean it just stick it in the washing machine! The coat is also really light and it's high pockets are very nice to have when waring a rucksack or harness. Top coat would recomend to anyone.

     

     

     
    Weather the storm.....
    Reviewed By Erin, 03 Nov 2013

    Given that I bought this jacket just days before 99 mph winds and rainstorms hit the south coast, I can truthfully say this jacket weathers the storm! Felt really sturdy in the high wind and rain, but not at all sweaty, even though it was surprisingly mild and I was hiking fast up hills to keep up with the dog. Having recently used my partners Mountain Equipment jacket (the one the mountain rescue guys use) in similar conditions, the Rab is definitely much more breathable and the Event fabric seems to be superior to the Gore-tex pro shell as far as breathability is concerned. Of course it kept the rain and wind out too. Having pit zips is great and the pockets are very spacious and well positioned. Plus it looks cool and classic even as a men's coat on my ladies hips, there's room! Nice low hem. I think I'm going to have a long and happy relationship with this jacket!

     

     

     
    A loyal friend
    Reviewed By Martin, 16 Oct 2013

    So no one told you it was gonna rain today
    You grab your coat, zip’s broke, the ‘proofings DOA
    It’s like you’re always buying shoddy gear
    But if you treat yourself to one of these today it’ll last you for years, and…
    It’ll be there for you
    (When the rain starts to pour)
    Decent pockets too
    (They’ll fit a map, maybe more)
    Got some pit zips, phew!
    (And it looks really cooooo-oool)

     

     

     
    excellent jacket, not cheap though
    Reviewed By Leigh, 05 Jun 2013

    Bought this Jacket to replace a trusty Mammut coat. Very happy with it, bought over a year ago and still in excellent condition, worn in some terrible conditions but it always keeps the water out. expensive but probably worth it, the front pockets for an OS map are excellent too.

     

     

     
    Fantastic piece of kit
    Reviewed By Laurence, 16 Feb 2013

    This jacket has performed marvelously, both complementing my beautiful face in photographs and keeping my luscious hair dry in the most torrid of British conditions. The fabric is light and tough, the pockets are spacious and well placed. When sailing it is important to be able to tuck your hands in your pockets at an angle that the run off will drip off your elbow rather than running down the sleeve into the pocket and all these factors have been considered.
    Whether it's climbing, sailing, strolling through Parisian streets with your beautiful girlfriend or simply walking without getting wet this is the jacket for you.
    Overall rating, Marvellous. Best purchase I have made since exiting my overdraft.

     

     

     
    Excellent jacket
    Reviewed By Gerry, 27 Dec 2012

    I had my eye on this jacket for a while having read all of the reviews for this jacket and compared these reviews with other jackets. Went into my local Cotswold shop and tried the jacket on. It was a toss up between the medium and large. Opted for the medium as it looked the better fit and had enough room for a fleece if it got on the chilly side. Anyway purchased it and has the opportunity to try it out in the rain nearly every day over the Christmas period due to the rubbish weather conditions. I was really pleased that the jacket was absolutely excellent and kept me completely dry - not one leak!! The information tags state that there may be some leakage into the pockets, however mine stayed bone dry. I would definitely recommend this jacket. Although it is a bit more cash than some of the others, it is worth paying that little extra to stay dry. If I was to make one suggestion to improve the jacket, it would be to include a couple of small pockets at hip level - but that is only my preferrence.

     

     

     
    great jacket but needs a lot of TLC
    Reviewed By Alex, 12 Apr 2012

    For a full on mountain jacket it looks great, very well styled. The 3 layer event is much more breathable than gore tex so ventilates fantastically, pit zips are a great addition too and they are angled in a way which doesn't catch the wind you the jacket doesn't turn into a sail in strong gusts ! The material gives a great compromise between weight ( exceptionally light jacket or what it is) and bulkiness, both the material and cut minimise bulk and maximise freedom of movement. Unfortunately i have found that after a few months the material has become a bit flimsy as its softened so is prone to letting in water and fabric in areas in contact with my pack have become abraded. The hood is great, fully helmet compatabale and draw cord at back of the hood is effective in holding it in place to keep out the wind. The velcro cuffs really work well in making a good seal keeping in the heat and the wind out, as for the zips, inner and outer storm flap are great but tough to work at first because of the rain proof finish, although does get easier. rain drain feature great for when reading guidebooks/maps. nifty for angling rain off trousers/pack and the pockets are spacious and easy to get at.
    The material needs a lot of maintainance to stay effective but if you look after it then it will look after you !

     

     

     
    Look after it, and it'll look after you
    Reviewed By R, 18 Feb 2012

    I upgraded to this jacket just over a year ago from the Super Dru jacket which I loved. This jacket certainly raised the bar again in terms of features and functionality. The jacket is extremely comfortable to wear, and with multiple layering options underneath it does not become bulky or restrictive. I use the hood a lot, with and without a helmet, and it performs well for both. The underestimated draw chord at the back really helps you get the right fit for the hood. ( a lot of people complain about hoods without ever touching the draw chord!) the lip of the hood is bendable also so dependent on how tight your hood is you can adjust the lip and it will stay in place. This is great for heavy rain, as you can direct the rain to fall off in different positions from the front. Very handy. The pockets perform admirably, pockets and water can always be a deal breaker. I have had zero problems with it. The positions for them are easily available, wether your stuck in a harness or walking on your lonesome. Second draw chord at the bottom means you can really get a tight fit for it, which is great fro creating about of a seal. Agility wise, I have used mine for leisurely walking,cycling,camping & climbing. No problems, arms are very free and one restrictive, Velcro at the end of the arms means you can tighten up to gloves or your hands, restricting the movement to a very acceptable level. Reaching up in the sky will not make the jacket ride up your back requiring constant adjustment, which is a bug bear of mine. In terms of E-vent. Great fabric, I generally have no temperature issues with the jacket, Wrong layering can affect this of course, but wrong layering isn't really isn't the jackets fault. It's very comfortable, yuca haven't fully zipped up to the top, and ever is no rubbing on it. Very nice fabric bit for your lips too! It does let the sweat out, whist retaing heat too very effectively. But while being E- vent,if you don't look after it then it will be better than a paltry cheap jacket. It will stand up to lots, but keep it clean and the E-vent intact is a must. For me, abrasion with a back pack has caused a bit of concern. But go to the Rab websites look at the how to care for you Rab sections and it will explain everything. If your serious about a jacket, then you won't mind the maintenance. And the benefits will out weigh it. Only drops a star for E-vent being that little bit hassle/work.

     

     

     
    Great for all conditions
    Reviewed By Simon, 07 Feb 2012

    Although I have the slightly older model without the front zip flap, the design has changed little. It is made of super breathable 3-layer eVent, which, in this version, is super hard wearing - exactly what you need in a winter shell. Nice long arms provide excellent reach, full adjustable hood and loads of venting options and pockets - it's like a winter climbing wishlist in one jacket (but great for those not climbing too!!)

     

     

     
    Total waterproof protection
    Reviewed By John, 03 Jan 2012

    This jacket is completely waterproof. The zips do not let the water in at all and the pit zips allow ventilation. The hood is very protective as well. The e-vent material makes it extremely breathable. It is definatley good value for money.

     

     

    The Knowledge - We're here to help

    Find your nearest store

    For expert advice, tips and more…

    How to: Look after waterproofs

    Here Andy gives you some tips on how to get the most from your waterproof garments

    Find your nearest store