£170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

 £170.00

Product Code: 13110438

Colour:
  • Black
  • Blazon

Size:

Size Guide
9
Last pieces available

Select a colour and/or size to show accurate delivery options.

Click & Collect: FREE
Buy now and collect from store
Standard Delivery: FREE
Named Day UK Delivery: £4.95
Buy now for delivery to your home
Returns and Exchanges
Hassle-free returns to UK stores or by post

Check availability in your local store

A mountain jacket for the testing depths of a British winter

Developed as a mountain jacket for the uniquely testing depths of a British winter, the Vapour-rise Guide should therefore be able to cope with just about anything!

The Vapour-rise system is great success story for Rab, with legions of fans across the spectrum of outdoor sports. A simple, reliable, versatile idea, Vapour Rise comprises a wicking fleecy lining and a windproof, water resistant, durable, tightly woven shell. These layers combine to protect from abrasion and from the elements, insulate from the cold, draw moisture away from the body and spread it rapidly across the surface where it easily evaporates. As well as this active movement of moisture, the lack of a waterproof membrane means there's nothing to get in the way of breathability.

In this Guide incarnation of the Vapour-rise , Rab have used durable Pertex Equilibrium and double-weave softshell fabrics with a hi-loft fleece liner for maximum warmth. From these high-performance materials, they have constructed a garment whose spec sheet reads like a mountaineer's wish list: a peaked hood which fits over a helmet, pockets you can access while wearing a harness, a chest pocket which will swallow a map (as well as a couple of inner pockets for bits and pieces), sleeves which let you reach up easily without pulling the jacket up, and pit zips to vent when you've reached up so often that you've built up a head of steam! As well as all that, there's tough fabric on the high-wear areas, and the two way zip allows the jacket to be thrown on and fastened without getting in the way of your ropework.

About the only thing it won't do is climb the mountain for you!


FREE STANDARD UK DELIVERY 20 - 23 November 2014

Product Features

  • Weight: 840g (Size L)
  • Fabric:
  • Helmet compatible peaked hood
  • Pockets:
    • 2 zipped A-line chest pockets
    • Napoleon map pocket
    • 2 zipped internal pockets
  • Pit zips
  • 2 way front zip with chin guard and internal storm flap
  • Reflective trim
  • Velcro cuffs
  • Drawcord hem

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

9 Customer reviews for this product

 
Congratulations Rab research + design teams!
Reviewed By Cam, 30 Jan 2014

Hi all ..... I'm new to walking/climbing + scrambling; so I needed the correct gear to go up Crib Goch + Snowdon (weekend of 25+26th Jan 2014). I price-matched the Rab Vapour Rise Jacket + Pants and got a fantastic deal, which Cotswold Outdoors were more than happy to honour.

I would give these garments 10 out of 10 !!!
so please read on...

Congratulations to all at Rab (honestly, they are super toasty warm, comfortable, breathable, water-resistant and took everything that the extreme elements could throw at me and at them too!

The weather up there was atrocious... !
absolutely brutal, extremely foul, violent, wild, stormy, and with claps of thunder!
and a windchill of minus 12-14 and with winds up to 75 mph!
(however there were no periods of sustained or persistent rain of longer than 15 mins)...

but I did have to endure a prolonged 20 minute hail-stone attack that stung/really hurt my face! despite my being balaclava'd + hooded up with the integrated hood on the jacket. (however, this is in no way a negative about the hood); I was wearing it comfortably + very snugly over my safety helmet, but the hail still managed to pelt me around the eyes... Ouch!

(btw, our party of 3 were completely equipped and not being foolish (and I am aware of the advice not to ascend during windy conditions and of the tragic fatality statistics up at Crib Goch... and my sincerest condolences go to all and their families)...

What I am actually trying to say,is this:
that the Rab vapour rise Guide jacket + pants withstood it all....!

On top of the knife-edge ridges, I was actually covered in frost, for a considerable period of time and being battered about by the violence of the weather..... but I did not feel any cold whatsoever, at any point !

(even when after a 15 minute rain storm and on realisation that my legs around my knees were getting wet; and when I was at the point of thinking of putting on my outer rainproof trouser shell, I found that there was no need as the cleverly designed + fabricated membrane quickly wicked the moisture away, leaving me warm + dry.
Anyway, I am sure that the shell would probably still being blown around Snowdon right now!
The combined outfit withstood it all!
At no time did I consider donning my outer jacket shell either!

In my honest opinion, if u can get your sizing right,
(and I would consider myself to be 'Mr Average Guy'
ie 5'9"/174 cm ish and 12 stone/74.5 kg ish),
I found that I fit perfectly snugly into the medium pants and to my surprise; and somewhat weirdly, into the small sized jacket, ....
(with absolutely no compromise on manoeuvrability or hindrance in the walking,climbing, scrambling or crawling!

All in all, an absolutely fantastic winter package!

I would seriously recommend these to the whole outdoor world!

Oh btw, under my jacket, I was only wearing a merino (Icebreaker) full sleeved base layer; and no thermals under the pants!

To summarise then:

Price... you get what u pay for!
(despite my huge combined saving of approx £100)

Fit... size up correctly,
because I believe that Rab comes up more closely fitted and more snugly.

Quality/Material/Tech bit... superbly worked out by the Rab design + research teams.

I am absolutely sold on these products and would recommend them 110%.

um? I do not think that I have over-looked anything.
Pockets and breather zips in both garments are an absolute necessity because of the warmth these garments generate and keep in.

Regards Cam

 

 

 
The Best Jacket Ive Brought
Reviewed By Josh , 06 Jan 2014

The rab vapour rise guide it the best soft shell made by rab. it tough and very reliable because you don't feel the wind at all when your in this warm jacket, the water resistance is really really good and probably the best of my soft shells. It has some really good features like the two way zip and the deep pockets which are compatible with an average map and also the ability to wick away the sweat form the body with its Pertex equilibrium keeps you warm. this soft shell dose really well and any condition and I give it without a doubt 5stars.

 

 

 
Brilliant Jacket
Reviewed By Jason, 14 Nov 2013

This is my favourite jacket. The Rab sizing is true to their sizing chart and the arms are nice and long allowing you to fully stretch without riding up the wrist. It is smart enough to wear casually looking like a coupon, but comes into its own when the temperature drops and the vapour transfer is outstanding, keeping you comfortable inside without any clammy feeling. I've wore it from Dovedale in the UK to Preikestolen in Norway. Great fitting hood and very spacious, well placed pockets. The waffle fleece material extends right up to the collar and feels very soft and snug around the throat. I really cannot recommend the VR Jacket enough - the trousers are very good too.

 

 

 
So far, so (very) good
Reviewed By Alex, 09 Feb 2013

Bought this jacket based on the reviews here and it has so far proven to be superb. From my icy morning walk to work with just a shirt under it, to white out conditions on the hill recently (thermal base + warm mid) in wind-chill of -7ish. Lovely and toasty.
I personally like the longish arms which makes climbing comfortable - the hood is a little snug over my helmet if I'm honest, but then I have a large head - doesn't restrict look up though.
Off to the Cairngorms later in the month for a serious field test - feeling confident about the jacket.
Great for those who don't want to be a part of the NF crew but can't quite afford an Arc'teryx or Paramo ;)

 

 

 
Great Jacket
Reviewed By sandra, 26 Dec 2012

Purchased with Terrain lit to wea for skiing but wore before and after trip.

 

 

 
Great mountaineering jacket
Reviewed By Simon, 06 Dec 2012

An exceptionally well thougt out and designed jacket.
It has an excellent highly adjustable hood that will easily take a helmet, the cut will allow climbing moves without riding up,
and finally a jacket thats chest pocket will take an OS map.It's a little heavy but its warm
Ive worn mine extensively and im very satisfied.

 

 

 
perfect winter jacket
Reviewed By Alex, 24 Nov 2012

possibly the most versatile warm jacket on the market, great for all activities particularly climbing. underarm venting zips are very effective and the VR lining and fleece balances breathability with warmth well. The pertex outer is a bit thin, especially on the hood which is a downside but it still retains a good degree of wind resistance

 

 

 
Super Jacket
Reviewed By Fiona, 18 Oct 2012

Just got the jacket at the weekend and already love it. Has been perfect for the colder weather with not having to wear too many layers underneath. Looking forward to using it more.

 

 

 
Absolutely brilliant
Reviewed By Lorenzo, 08 Oct 2012

I tried this jacket for the first time in the Cairngorms in sub-zero temperature and the usual howling winds over Lairig Ghru and Braeriach.
I got a bit worried when I met people coming down with icicles on their faces and all wrapped up in duvet and lots of layers, while I only had a thermal base and this one.
But I was amazed at how warm it was -as long as I kept moving- and I never felt any windchill; at some point I even took down the hood and partially unzipped the front! With all its warmth, however, it never got me sweating.
I walked about 80 km overall with a rather heavy rucksack, and the jacket didn't show any sign of wear.
It is somewhat pricey, and I found the sleeves a little long on me; when standing still at camp in cold weather you'll probably need some other warm layer, but I personally take this jacket pretty much wherever I go.