NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

NOW: £75.00 RRP: £110.00

Product Code: 33110341

Colour:
  • Autobahn / Asphalt / Flea
    OFFER
  • Detroit / Autobahn / GR
    OFFER

Size:

Size Guide
10
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery Information

Check availability in your local store

Excellent comfort and robust protection on a range of terrains

Offering a comfortable fit, excellent comfort and robust protection on a range of terrains, the Exode Low GTX is a fully featured approach shoe.

This waterproof Salomon shoe features a Gore-Tex lining to help keep your feet dry and comfortable on wet terrain and an extremely robust, contragrip sole for friction and stability. The insole is easily removed for cleaning and provides the option to replace it with an orthopedic footbed if necessary. Extra padding around the ankle means that your feet will feel snug and secure, whilst the breathable mesh is great for regulating heat.

Please note: The sizing is smaller than average on the Exode Low GTX so you may need 1 size larger than your normal shoe size.


Please note that no further offers or discounts apply to this item. This offer is valid online, by phone and in selected stores only, subject to availability.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30


FREE RETURNS to any Cotswold Outdoor store

Product Features

  • Weight: 830g
  • Gore-Tex XCR waterproof lining
  • Contagrip sole
  • Breathable mesh uppers
  • Nubuck leather details
  • Padded ankle support and tongue

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? Pop into one of our 70 UK stores, or consult our online knowledge centre

30 Customer reviews for this product

 
Great shoe
Reviewed By Ross, 04 Mar 2014

I was looking for a new pair of walking shoes as my brilliant Merrell Chameleon's had all but worn out! After plenty of searching I opted for the Exode Low GTX and haven't been disapointed. The shoes are very lightweight (compared to my Chameleon's) and although a little stiff to start with, quickly softened up and have become very comfy. After about a month of mainly moderate use my feet have always stayed dry and comfortable. When put the test recently on a 13 mile hike in a very wet and muddy Cornwall they stood the test really well and a friend couldn't believe I didn't have wet feet! The only downside I can find is that, as other people have mentioned, they are sometimes a bit slippy on wet stone surfaces but this is not a major problem. I would definitely recommend the shoe but you need to go at least 1/2 a size bigger than usual as they fit quite narrow.

 

 

 
Very light and warm
Reviewed By Ian, 27 Dec 2013

Had these for just over two weeks ,not a lot to say other than very comfortable light weight shoe, waterproof and good value for money.

 

 

 
good light weight walking shoe
Reviewed By Jane, 15 Nov 2013

Excellent light weight and durable shoe for those long walking days. Very Comfortable.

 

 

 
Shame they fell apart in just 8 months
Reviewed By Susan , 01 Nov 2013

I bought these to replace my last Salomon's as they were great. These however!! I bought them in september last year and pretty much wear them every day whilst walking the dog, i also bought some seal socks at the same time as these aren't waterproof!.. they coped with winter great, come april the glue was coming apart on the sole, and two holes either side of the shoe appeared. The sole is now nearly off and more holes have appeared so i have no choice but to look for another shoe.. and also a new pair of seal socks as they've got holes in too!! perhaps the salomn xultra GTX shoe will last longer!! as for comfort i really like them hence the persistance in wearing them and the only reason they have a 2 star rating! but other than that the build quality was bad on this shoe, and they certainly weren't waterproof.. showerproof perhaps?

 

 

 
Excellent waterproof shoe
Reviewed By , 03 Jun 2013

Comfortable best fitting shoe I've owned

 

 

 
Useless in the spa
Reviewed By Daniel, 15 Mar 2013

I got a pair of these trainers about a year or so ago but never really put them to any sort of vigorous test. They were great in snow when fitted with a pair of Yaktrax – no water seepage and they kept my feet warm. But even then I didn't feel like I was pushing them.

So I decided that I needed to go somewhere rugged and tough in order to really take them to the limit. It was clear the only suitable destination was the luxury 5 star Sugar Beach Viceroy resort and Rainforest Spa on St Lucia. The shoes coped admirably with all the walking throughout Gatwick and were comfortable during the 8 hour flight. Upon reaching the destination it was clear that they might well have met their match. In the 30C heat and blazing sunshine I was forced to discard them and stick to sandals.

That was until two days into the holiday when the mission was to conquer the Gros Piton. A 2600ft mound of rock that was steeper than anything I've ever walked up before.

To call it a nature trail, as per the sign-age, did it a disservice. It was 2.5 hours of gruelling climbing in rainforest conditions over the toughest rockiest trail I've ever done. I'm not embarrassed to admit I nearly didn't complete it – under the canopy of trees the sun made one side of the mountain appear feel like an oven.

So for the shoes. Well going up the soles where fantastic. I didn't slip once and didn't miss not having walking boots. Coming down I was a little more concerned due to the lack of ankle protection. I needn't have worried though – once again they gripped solidly and I didn't get a single blister.

I should also mention the rest of the kit I was wearing: a pair of basic Bridgedale socks, Craghopper shorts, Bear Grylls Trek shirt and my Tilley hat. I must highlight how good the Bear Grylls shirt was – but I'll add another review for that.

So on the plus side the Salomons were brilliant at trekking over very rough terrain in stiflng heat. They are also brilliant in the wet and snow and are quite capable when fitted with Yak Trax.

Unfortunately they were useless at lying on sun loungers, waiting for the butler, and having a massage in the rainforest spa.

Oh Salomons have a funny size thing – try a pair one size bigger than you think you need.

 

 

 
great all rounder
Reviewed By , 17 Feb 2013

a nice comfortable shoe that is well made and at a great cost.

 

 

 
perfect!
Reviewed By lee, 09 Feb 2013

Being my first purchase from cotswold I was really impressed with the service that I got. For what I was after the sales advisor listened about my needs and suggested these shoes and ive not looked back since. really comfy and were perfect for those cold weather snaps we have. They got me up the hill with out falling over.

 

 

 
At last a great all round shoe
Reviewed By Paul, 05 Feb 2013

I've been looking for a comfortable all round show for months now and its been driving my wife mad as I kept sending shoes back. I wanted a pair for walking around city centres and woodland tracks. I bought these on a Friday (very helpful team in Watford by the way) and wore them for the first time for 6 hours straight on the Saturday walking around central London. No breaking in was required, they were amazingly comfortable with no rubbing. Interestingly the sole is well insulated as the temp was -2 and my feet stayed nice and warm. I have finally found a great walking shoe. They do however come up small, so I'm a slightly wide, size 10 UK in normal shoes and had to buy 11.5 UK when wearing a single pair of smartwool walking socks. Most people would probably be a size bigger than normal. They also look reasonable with jeans and don't make you look too nerdy like some walking boots.

 

 

 
Superb walking shoes
Reviewed By , 07 Jan 2013

These walking shoes are the third pair of Salomon shoes that I have bought and worn over the last 20 years. They have always been extremely comfortable for everyday use and for low level treking abroad. The latest pair are so far living up to expectations and will shortly be going to Australia with me. I agree with other reviewers that a larger size than your normal shoe will give the best and most comfortable fit. I have had other makes of walking shoes but the Salomon ones have proved to be the most durable and long lasting.

 

 

 
Superb lightweight shoe
Reviewed By Steven, 28 Dec 2012

These are by far the most comfortable shoes I have bought and good value for the Goretex liner too. I agree with the other reviewers - they come up too small for their shoe size. I'm a 7/7.5 and had to buy an 8.5 to get a good fit. I'm not sorry I bought them!

 

 

 
Update from previous review
Reviewed By John, 19 Dec 2012

Am still enjoying the comfort and waterproofing of the Exode Low GTX. However, am still finding some slippage on wet cobblestones, and now also slippage whilst doing easy walking descent on wet granite, at Hay Tor, Devon.

 

 

 
Nearly all good so far
Reviewed By John, 26 Nov 2012

Three weeks after my purchase of these shoes I've summed up the courage to wear them outdoors for the first time, which is good because there are some big downpours on at the moment. I'd read the reviews about the incorrect sizing, and taken the original size 11s I bought back to the shop, to replace them with size 11.5s, for a week, before further taking those back to the shop to replace them with the original size 11s, which I have now stuck with. I wore them a lot around the house first, to be sure I'd made the right size decision, which I have; the 11.5s were like boats on my feet, which are narrow and long. Thus, I have re-discovered Salomon to be my shoe of choice, like the pair of Exit 2s that I bought before.
So far, these ones seem waterproof, although I haven't yet put them through their paces or tested them to the full - maybe I won't need to. They are really comfortable and feel gloriously supportive and snug; just perfect. Ok, so they're slightly more pointy at the toes than the Exit 2s, but I can't change that and am happy so far. Noticed this morning that the grips were a bit slippery on wet cobblestones - need to be careful there. Will update with any developments! Currently: 5 stars.

 

 

 
Excellent Exode Low with goretex
Reviewed By mike, 04 Nov 2012

The Salomon Exode low with goretex liner have proved to be very comfortable for hiking on recent Peak district break. Waterproof & with a great grip for all terrain encountered.
Review by Mike, 4 Nov 2012

 

 

 
Salomon mens xode GTX shoe
Reviewed By , 27 Oct 2012

The only problem with this shoe is that the sole wears down realy fast,only got mine six months ago and the tread has worn down flat.

 

 

 
Light, waterproof and real comfy
Reviewed By keith, 02 Oct 2012

Buy a full size above your normal shoe size and they'll fit beautifully. Read the sales descriptions...they do what it says on the tin!

 

 

 
Comfortable, affordable gore-tex approach shoes
Reviewed By Christopher, 27 Aug 2012

Great value approach shoes. Very comfortable and support your feet well. Soles can be a bit skippy in the wet so more suited to less extreme walks and everyday way. Had to buy a half size larger to get bet fit. Recommended at this price especially for gore-tex shoes..

 

 

 
Small and treacherous - yes, but still a great sho
Reviewed By Peter, 30 Jun 2012

I have reviewed these already. The fact that they were small - undersized - led Cotswold to willingly change them for me. That's great customer service. since then they have had a bashing but they have been the best salomon shoe i have had. That is except for the slipperiness on certain wet surfaces and you have to be sooo careful. About to order another pair. Pity they are an extra £10 though.

 

 

 
Good approach shoe for long feet and long toes.
Reviewed By Dominic, 30 Jun 2012

I was looking for a full waterproof good fitting approach shoe for my long, narrow feet and long toes. I have C/9.5 men’s size feet when sitting and C/10.5 men’s size feet when standing because of hyperdolichodactylia (very long toes), narrow feet and high arch. This extension in length and small width is usually an issue when buying shoes.
On the positive the Mens Exode Low GTX approach shoe was simple to fit in store and has a simple lace system. When used outside the narrow fit of the shoe provides grip on the side of the feet which stop the feet sliding in the shoe and allows the feet to adjust to uneven ground properly. Some shoes cause me discomfort on the sides of both feet but I have experienced no discomfort on the sides of my feet whatsoever from this narrow fit. The good fitting also allows for better waterproofing. I have so far walked through muddy trails and through rivers during two separate thunder storms without feeling any moisture.
On the negative when I first began walking in these shoes I have experienced sliding of both my outermost toes which caused some sores which needed attention, however after almost four weeks and much walking both outermost toes have adjusted to the shoes and do not slide anymore.
In general the full waterproofing in the shoe is extraordinary as even though the shoes have a low ankle I have walked through rivers with my feet staying completely dry and warm. The design is modern an inconspicuous and is perfect if needed for casual non outdoor pursuits such as going to the shops.
I have never had a better pair of shoes, for fitting, balance, comfort, waterproofing and style. I would definitely recommend this shoe to anyone with long toes and long feet.

 

 

 
Fantastic appraoch shoe.
Reviewed By Grahame, 17 Jun 2012

I have waited a couple of months before writing this to get a true feel for these shoes. I went a whole size up after reading other reviews and found they were spot on (a pity and a bit pointless to review them as a one star on sizing alone, without even wearing them). I would agree they could do with better grip on wet rock but to be fair, were bought more for forest trails and family walks. They have kept my feet dry in wet weather, on trails and walking through grass, even round town, they look great and are very light and comfortable. I would highly recommend these as the best approach shoes I have owned so far, and by far the best looking. Probably a five with a better gripping sole, but then I wear boots on anything more extreme. GG

 

 

 
a 'crackin' pair
Reviewed By Lee, 23 May 2012

I bought a pair of these initially for my honeymoon where we went on safari to Tanzania but also needed a new approach shoe for climbing.
I can’t fault them, everything you want from a of approach shoes, they’re tough, not too heavy, comfey and breathable (which turned out to be important when faced with a pack of lions on a walking safari when perspiration levels tend to rise somewhat!)
I’ve since used them in all manner of conditions, snow, mud, sand dirt and they’re still going strong a year later.
Only improvement I’d like to see is some rubber with a bit more grip on rock.

 

 

 
Sturdy and comfy
Reviewed By Ben, 30 Jan 2012

A really good great value shoe that is greatly benefited by the gore-tex layer. I would reccomend going for a larger size as everyone else has said. Other than this a brilliant shoe.

 

 

 
Good walking shoe
Reviewed By Colin, 19 Nov 2011

Bought these about a month ago and spent last week in the Lake District and found them very confortable I BOUGHT THEM HALF A SIZE BIGGER after looking at other reviews.

 

 

 
Well specced Shoe
Reviewed By R, 08 Nov 2011

Just bought these from the Harrogate store, seem very comfy straight out of the box and well specced with Gore-Tex liner and vibram sole. I've moved from a pair of Merrel XCR which came with Gore-Tex and a vibram sole, but the equivalent boot now seems to cost £100+. As has been noted, size seems a bit out, my Merrels were a size 11 I got these in an 11.5.

 

 

 
Great value - comfort & quality
Reviewed By Richard, 01 Nov 2011

great fit with the benefit of dry feet in the wet. Sturdier than the manufacturers racer shoes - more for adventure hiking. Well constructed and comfortable, although sizies do come up small - recommend moving up one full size to allow for this. Overall - well satisfied.

 

 

 
a very comfortable shoe
Reviewed By Alasdair, 15 Oct 2011

Bought my third pair of Salomen. The sizing is all wrong (at least 1 - 1and1/2 sizes out from usual footwear) as previous reviewers have stated, but you can put these on and just start walking. Just be aware of sizing if buying online. I tried them on in the shop - much easier.

 

 

 
small - and tracherous
Reviewed By Peter, 03 Sep 2011

Comfy shoe although was half a size too small and I had ordered half a size larger in voew of other reviews.
The main problem is the grip which is a bit treacherous i would say. Very poor grip and some smoother surfaces like slat or rock so you have be very wary in placing your feet in wet conditions and the complete opposite of what you would expect from such a shoe.

I suppose you could just wear it in the dry!

 

 

 
Excellent shoes but go one size up
Reviewed By Huw, 18 Aug 2011

Bought a pair of these last week - thankfully in store, where the helpful assistant told me they came in smaller than stated (she was wearing a pair, so spoke from experience). Got the 11.5 (instead of 10.5) and they are perfect. Extremely comfortable, great support, light, cool, waterproof - everything you could want from a trail shoe. In fact they are so good that I ordered a second pair on-line just a week later. And in the sale they are great value for money.

 

 

 
Wrong sizing
Reviewed By , 18 Aug 2011

Bought these in a size 9. They are not size 9 !
They're at least 1 whole size smaller than stated.
Very disappointing.

 

 

 
Sizing is small - buy with caution
Reviewed By David, 09 Jul 2011

I've been wearing Salomon trainers with Contragrip soles for a number of years now, in my opinion they're excellent shoes. So when I saw these on the net it was a no brainer, Salomons sized 9.5 always fit me like a glove. Until these.... they're at least half a size, probably a size too small for my feet. Unfortunately I just stuck them straight on and went out for a walk, just thinking they were stiff and new, so can't send them back. A good buy in-store, but not worth the risk buying online. 1 star review would be 4 star if they fitted (the green bits are an awful colour,couldn't give them 5). No wonder they're so cheap.....Anyone want to buy a pair of size 8.5ish trainers?..... :-)

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Salomon: Exode Low GTX Approach Shoe

Watch our product video on the Mens Exode Low GTX approach shoe from Salomon

Find your nearest store

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…