£155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

 £155.00

Product Code: 32110265

Colour:
  • Autobahn  /  Black  /  Flea
  • Olive / Dark Olive / Black
  • Asphalt / Black / Mimosa yellow
  • Deep red / Black / George orange-X

Size:

Size Guide
41
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery and Returns

Check availability in your local store

Extra light backpacking boot with excellent stability and comfort

This extra light backpacking boot gains stability and comfort from Salomon's most advanced trail running technologies.

The full-height ankle combines with 4D Advanced Chassis technology for great support and stability. The Quest has a full waterproof breathable Gore-Tex Performance Comfort Footwear bootie, split suede leather upper and protective rubber toe and heel caps for weather protection and outstanding durability.


FREE UK DELIVERY on orders over £30


FREE RETURNS to any Cotswold Outdoor store

Product Features

  • Weight: 1300g
  • Non marking Contagrip outsole
  • 4D Advanced Chassis
  • Gore-Tex Performance Comfort membrane
  • Waterproof split suede leather outer material
  • OrthoLite sockliner
  • Molded EVA midsole
  • Protective rubber toe cap
  • Protective rubber heel cap
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Boot rating: B:0

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Staff Kit Test

These boots are by far the best boots I have ever owned, the fit around the heel and forefoot is exceptional, the support is great on steep ground and rough terrain and they are extremely light for a boot offering that much support. They are a bit more expensive for a fabric boot compared to others but worth every penny!

used for walking, scrambling, trekking and approach

By: Rich, Chester store

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

91 Customer reviews for this product

 
Excellent comfort
Reviewed By Simon, 15 Jul 2014

These are very comfortable boots and I find them lightweight. They have excellent grip. No complaints from me just praise... once they go on my feet will be well protected and supported all day long. If they ever wear out I'd buy another pair.

 

 

 
Very comfortable
Reviewed By Douglas, 30 Jun 2014

Bought these for myself after doing a lot of research on a good light sturdy backpacking/hiking boot.
I used to have an older pair of Salamon boots 6/7 years ago that I wore until they were falling to bits. Even completed the West Highland Way in them while they had holes in them and barely any sole left, they were just so comfy I didnt care if they leaked.
The Quest 4D GTX seems to be the same. Very comfortable from the box and ideal for my long narrow size 12 plates of meat. Will be putting them through there paces in the Pentland Hills and on some long distance routes this year and probably the West Highland Way in September. I`m not one for worrying if my feet get damp when its seriously raining and your walking 25/30 miles in heavy rain, I have never owned a pair of boots that will stand up to that. As long as they dry quick I`m happy. Hope these last as long as my last ones.

Doogie

 

 

 
Comfy Boots
Reviewed By Nick, 09 Jun 2014

Very comfortable, light. However not very long lasting. As usual with every Salomon I have ever had the sole separates after several months of use, I am out most days every week though. They can be glued back giving another year or so of light use. Despite Goretex they are NOT waterproof. Anything more than a very light short shower and they let water in. Grass/heather etc that is wet will definitely soak through and very quickly too. Re-proofing makes no difference. The toe rand also separates so even if the sole doesn't come apart which is where initially most of the wet comes through by leaking into the midsole layer you will get leaks here. The overlap between the toe rand and upper is very small less than 5mm so it doesn't take much to come apart. All the faults aside I am now about to buy my 4th pair. They do a good job providing you don't expect more than a year's life and will be mainly in the dry. For wet or damp weather I wear full grain leather boots. Horses for course!

 

 

 
Awesome Boots!!
Reviewed By Warren, 22 May 2014

I bought these boots in the Reading store on the Saturday and was walking in Snowdonia for the week on the Monday. I had not one issue with the boots and they are definitely more comfortable than my last pair of Meindl boots. Walked through water with no leakage whatsoever! Also the service in the store was excellent, had two young lads help me out with lots of advice. They even had a skeleton of a foot and showed me how the bones move while walking! Highly recommend the boots and the store.

 

 

 
Absolutely amazing pair of boots.
Reviewed By Krishna , 20 May 2014

These boots are inevitably amazing. It is waterproof, supports your ankle, has soft cushion, very light, breathable and fits your feet in very comfortable manner. It works exactly as it is described. Worth of spending money on these boots. You will never regret.

 

 

 
what a boot
Reviewed By howard, 19 May 2014

I went to the Cotswald shop in Chester and requested a fitting. The fitter Simon took all my measurements and brought me out this boot. As soon as iItried it on I knew this was the boot for me. I have been in leather Zamberlan boots for the last 10 years and recently realised I needed a lighter boot with good support and this was the boot. Next day I had a 13.5mile 2500 ft of accent walk in Yorkshie. It was a wet day and when we returned my feet where as fresh and confortable as the time I started out. I am off for 3 days in Scotland in June 8 Munro's and 2 Corberts, this might be the test and I will update the review when I return. I would like to thank Simon for taking the time to go throught the fitting and showing me this boot. I do have 2 pairs of Solomon trainers which I also use and these are comfortable even though they do no have the same sole construction as the Quest boot.

 

 

 
Supportive but lightweight all-rounder hiking boot
Reviewed By Melanie, 22 Apr 2014

These boots (in 'Autobahn') were purchased for my partner from the Newcastle branch. His previous long-serving boots were also Salomon but after trying on three other brands/pairs, these emerged as the genuine winners. The fitting service was comprehensive and was time and effort well-spent: the boots were worn straight out of the box for a 3 mile urban walk and 7 miles in the Yorkshire Wolds. Good support, no rubbing, the laces stayed secure and the boots feel remarkably light to wear. Their next test will be the Cotswold Way but they seem robust enough to cope with anything that adventure can throw at them, even the forecast rain. Very happy with the purchase.

 

 

 
Awesommmeeee
Reviewed By Chetan, 22 Apr 2014

Found the look very appealing bpught it without even trying. Very impressed with the fit. Dont even feel these are boots feel more like trainers.

 

 

 
So far - very good!
Reviewed By steven, 05 Apr 2014

Just completed 50 kilometres in my new 4DX and can only praise them for support, lightness and comfort. A big thank you to Imogen at the Reading store for the fitting advice and measurements. First class service.

 

 

 
Very Impressed!!
Reviewed By Daniel, 13 Mar 2014

I brought these boots in store in the Tunbridge Wells Branch. The staff were very friendly knowledgeable and helpful not only for the purchase of these boot but other products at the same time.

Straight away the boots have been comfy from day one, despite some reviews complaining about how waterproof these boots are I have had no problems as yet even following a hard weekend walking in the Lake District and varying other shorter low level walks with lots of water and stream crossings. I can however see the water starting to soak in to the material longer than it did to start with and does not bead off like it did originally (still no water ingress in to the boot however), I will treat them to some nixwax spray soon to retain their life.

One annoyance I have found is with the laces, I found they do tend to work loose despite having the locking loop, after the first mile or so on most walks I would need to tighten the laces again however after this I would have no issues for the rest of the day.

All in all I have very impressed with the boots and would recommend them to anyone, as with all boots they should be kept clean and maintained well after use and should last well.

 

 

 
Brilliant boots
Reviewed By James, 04 Mar 2014

I bought these from the Keswick store and the staff were very helpful. After trying on a few different makes these were the best fit for my feet. Always try different makes before buying, the correct shape really does make a big difference in comfort. Breaking boots in is a myth but ensuring they fit well before use is essential. After taking these boots up Cross Fell I was in no doubt that they are superb; lightweight, very supportive and enough cushioning to prevent foot fatigue even after a full days walking. I've had no waterproofing issues so far even after this winter! The only greater way to test them would be to go swimming in them! Basically if they fit (properly) buy them.

 

 

 
Amazing pair of boots
Reviewed By Anita, 01 Mar 2014

I bought these boots to go walking in Snowdonia. I put them straight to work by going on a 10 mile walk. They were extremely comfortable and I didn't even need to break them in. They supported my ankles extremely well on all terrains. They were very waterproof after I tried them out standing in the middle of the river and my feet were still completely dry. THEY WERE MONEY EXTREMELY WELL SPENT!!!

 

 

 
Easy!!
Reviewed By Martin, 29 Jan 2014

Bought these boots in the week before our wknd trip to the Lake District and ignored the advice to wear them around the house to wear them in! Up to Patterdale on he Friday and straight out into the wind and rain for a 2 hour walk in the valley below Helvellyn that resembled a bog. Dry and warm toasty feet all the way round. Next day an attempt to get up to High Street but got as far as Angle Tarn and the wind and driving hail beat us back down. Very impressed with the weight, grip, comfort and dryness of these boots - money well spent.

 

 

 
Failed the bog challenge
Reviewed By Ian, 27 Jan 2014

Needed to replace my old Asolo Flames so went to Cotswold in Liverpool. As always the guys were very helpful and the choice came down to a new pair of Flames or the Salomon Quest. The Quest just shaded the Flames on comfort so did some research and, even though the there seemed to be a worrying theme about the boots waterproofing failing, chose the Quests. I've had them for about 5 months with no problems, and they are superbly comfortable, but they've never had to endure extreme wet conditions until yesterday (26/01)when I went walking over the moors around Wycoller. The ground was saturated and the tracks were rivers. After about an hour I started to get the tell-tale damp feeling around the crease area of the boot and by the time we finished, my feet were soaked. Very disappointed as they are so comfortable but it's back to the Asolo's and dry feet for me, I'm afraid.

 

 

 
5-star service
Reviewed By Daniel, 24 Jan 2014

Highly delighted with the service I received when purchasing these boots. Feet measured, and rigorous 'hill and rough terrain' tests conducted to ensure the best fit and support. Turns out I needed volume reducers, which were provided free of charge, due to the shallow nature of my feet. Price paid wasn't half bad either (top tip: price check)! Can't comment on the durability as I haven't taken them out for a spin yet but they are light, comfortable and very supportive. Many thanks to the team at Durham, and Duncan at the Newcastle store where I eventually bought them from.

 

 

 
My Marvellous Mont Blanc Slippers
Reviewed By D, 23 Jan 2014

Just bought these for August in the Alps & for walks in the UK. They're so comfortable & light on the foot, with strong support and protection from the toughest trek. Superb quality at a reasonable price...

 

 

 
Two Pairs........Leaked!
Reviewed By Mike, 21 Jan 2014

So gutted to have to do a neg report, but my first pair leaked after a couple of months, second, replacement, pair leaked after a couple of hours! Real shame because they are a lovely comfy boot. I am now the proud owner of a pair of Meindl Bhutan.
I must say, however, that the staff at Cotswold Outdoor Exeter have been fantastic in helping with this problem, and with other kit I have bought from them. Top bunch at Exeter...Thanks.

 

 

 
So far so good
Reviewed By R, 14 Jan 2014

Have these a week now and have walked each day in varying conditions. They took no time to break in and are very comfortable and supportive. Look forward to testing them in the Cairngorms during February.

 

 

 
Awesome!!! best boots ive ever had!
Reviewed By clifford, 17 Dec 2013

getting back into the outdoors, these boots tick every box. light, very supportive, strong and supremely comfortable! was expertly measured and fitted, and I couldn't be happier!

 

 

 
Great Boots!
Reviewed By Roderick, 09 Dec 2013

Very comfortable and light, but also supportive and look good! I where them just about every week hill walking and scrambling. Started to leak when about 11 months old, but Cotswold gave me a new pair with no quibble. So I'm quite happy!

 

 

 
Pure comfort
Reviewed By G, 29 Nov 2013

If you want to be comfortable and maintain dry feet whilst enjoying the open countryside then these are the boots for you. Awesome!

 

 

 
very comfortable boot in the dry
Reviewed By Luke, 30 Oct 2013

Great lightweight boot... both leak and will be going back to salamon as it seems they should not (reading other comments)

 

 

 
Replacement Pair
Reviewed By Chris, 28 Oct 2013

Just had 6 month old pair replaced as the left hand boot sole came apart. No problems or questions from Cotswold Staff who could not have been more helpful, the fault is in the manufacture not the selling. So for comfort, fit and style first class. So lets see how this replacement goes as the boots will get a hammering as I will be wearing them most weekends during the winter months. Got to say these boots saved me a broken ankle a few weeks ago when I put my foot in an overgrown hole, foot was black and blue but not broken.

 

 

 
Excellent - really good buy
Reviewed By Mike, 14 Oct 2013

I don't understand the 1 star for wet conditions. I've just spent the whole weekend in driving rain on the Lincolnshire Wolds. Boots absolutely dry at end of it. My old boots were leather and would have been heavy and wet within 4 hours!

 

 

 
EXCELLENT ALROUND BOOT BY FAR THE BEST IVE HAD
Reviewed By Gary, 07 Oct 2013

No blisters or rub points from wearing these straight out of the box. Comfortable, good support, lightweight what more could you want. They even breathe really well and keep your feet dry.
Looked at various boot and have tried quite a few on but when I tried these they felt extremely comfortable and fitted great. Used them on the mountains and hills, feet where held firmly and lots of ankle support. I have military back ground and these performed brilliantly, very impressive over varying and arduous terrain carrying a load. They are great set of boots. Have done a lot of walk and training and no problem at all. No doubt it was the best and most comfortable set of boots ever, and I’ve got through a fair few over past few years. I would defiantly recommend these boots to everyone. There everything you could want and ask for. EXCELLENT BOOTS!!!

 

 

 
Terrible in wet conditions
Reviewed By Joseph, 29 Sep 2013

Myself and 5 friends were recently trekking around the Galloway area involving 6 days point to point and camping out each night. We were all wearing this boot bar one. It didn't rain through out but there was a lot of ground dew. These boots seemed to suck water up to the point that my feet would have been dryer in sandals. Those that had them on suffered from medium trench foot and bad blisters by the end. We tried to dry them at night and wire gotten socks when not on the move. Extremely disappointed, I will not be using them again. They probably best suit dry mountain conditions.

 

 

 
Brilliant boots!
Reviewed By Peter, 13 Sep 2013

After much research I bought these boots for the John Muir Trail. I wore them in prior to the trek for a few hikes and they performed brilliantly on the JMT. After 20 days and 214 miles of a tough and rough granite trail, they are like new and my feet were comfy and ankles well-supported.They are nice and light, essential on those energy-sapping ascents. The best boots I've ever owned.

 

 

 
3rd pair!
Reviewed By James, 08 Sep 2013

I am on my 3rd pair of thease now as they are the best walking boots I have ever had, I do alot of days in the mountins and I use them for work, dry feet and no blisters, nice an warm too on a cold night. Perfect

 

 

 
Great set of boots
Reviewed By Sanjoy, 28 Aug 2013

They are great set of boots. Have done a lot of walk and training and no problem at all. Wore it on the trek to Everest base camp and no doubt it was the best and most comfortable set of boots ever.

 

 

 
Boots are extremely good all rounder
Reviewed By Michael, 27 Aug 2013

Looked at various boot types and have tried quit a few on but when I tried these they felt extremely convert able and fitted great used them on the mountains and hills in Glencoe feet where held firm and lots of ankle support as well as great Very impressive over varying terrain carrying a load . Have a military back ground and these performed brilliantly.

 

 

 
Great boots
Reviewed By Paul, 20 Aug 2013

No blisters or rub points from wearing these straight out of the box. Comfortable, good support, lightweight what more could you want. They even breath really well.

 

 

 
These boots Rock
Reviewed By Andy, 23 Jul 2013

Awesome! So pleased with these boots. Took them out on a 15 mile trek to break them in. You really know your wearing a sturdy, light quality boot. The second time I really put them though there paces. 21 mile trek through the Brecon Beacons. Climbing 6 mountains. I would highly recommend these boots over their competitors any day!

 

 

 
Good boots
Reviewed By Gareth, 17 Jun 2013

Got these as my Asolo's were a bit narrow for me, wore them today for a 8 mile hike along the Carneddau, were comfy straight out of the box, I've got wide feet & these fitted great, the gentleman who served me in the Betws y Coed shop was exelent, very knowledgeable, helpful & friendly. Thanks.

 

 

 
Great Boots!
Reviewed By Matthew, 31 May 2013

I bought these boots about 7 months ago and they have been brilliant. Barely a need to wear them in at all. I have covered many miles in them with no problems (after the first pair leaked and were taken back no questions asked). Best investment I have made in the outdoor world!

 

 

 
Smart looking good fiting boot.
Reviewed By Chris, 24 May 2013

First week of use, however early indications are that this boot will live up to its reputation. Could not have asked for better service from the shop staff. I tried on several boots before deciding on the Salomon. So far I have noticed that the boot is a much tighter fit than my well worn in ECCO, just case of adjusting the lacing. Need to give these boots a few more walks to determine how good they are going to be and to decide if the price was worth paying, so will update my review in due course. 4 Star rating so far.

 

 

 
second pairs
Reviewed By peter, 21 May 2013

I use my last pair in Scotland/winter, 1000km in spain all over there mountains, California and another 1000km over spain. for the second time.
there is still life left, but I brought another pair because I now needed a additional extra half size, looking forward to doing the GR11 next week. I use my mantas for full on winter walking, and my quest for the rest...I have walked them dry. used them day in day out on long distance treks and these boots are now seen more than any other pair in Europe.

 

 

 
Excellent lightweight and sturdy boot
Reviewed By James, 14 May 2013

I've been a fan of Salomons for a while now, I have awkwardly wide and wonky feet and have in the past had a hard time finding a pair of walking shoes that were comfortable, and Salomons have proved to be about the only brand that fit me properly. These boots proved to be no exception when it came time to retire my old ones, relatively light, comfortable, sturdy, good tread and an excellent fit, everything a good walking boot should be.

I should also say that I took advantage of the in store fitting service and can't say enough good things about the staff I dealt with. The chap I spoke to when I bought these took detailed measurements and was then immediately able to narrow down the options based on my foot size, then taking plenty of time to go through all the options with me and ensure I got the boot with the best fit. Furthermore staff I subsequently dealt with when I had comfort issues as I broke the boots in were superb in advising me on insoles to help with my awkward foot shape and even stretch out a couple of points on the boots where I'd been getting too much pressure in order to alleviate discomfort. Can't recommend highly enough and would urge anyone else considering buying to visit their local store if they are considering new boots!

 

 

 
Really comfortable walking boots
Reviewed By Russell, 07 May 2013

I needed a pair of light, waterproof but sturdy boots for my 950 mile solo charity walk from John O' Groats to Land's End in June. The Quest 4D GTX boots had been recommended to me. The assistant at Cotswold measured my feet professionally and checked the fit of the boots from every angle. There was a slight hiccup when I discovered that the boots I'd brought home were different sizes, but the Cotswold staff quickly resolved this!
Having worn the boots for more than a dozen training walks, I can confirm that they are extremely comfortable. Unlike some boots I've owned, they're really easy to put on and they offer a variety of different lacing options, which means that you can adjust the fit to make the boot more comfortable.
I'm just hoping that the boots will survive the entire walk!

 

 

 
Fantastic, comfortable boots!!!
Reviewed By Stuart, 24 Apr 2013

Bought these after visiting the London Piccadilly store. Great help and advice from Juris - I must've tried on about 10+ pairs of boots and was in the shop for almost two hours.

These seem a great fit so far, straight out of the box. I've tried them out on a couple of short walks so far and hardly any problems - just a slight niggle which was fixed by a change of socks.

Looking forward to giving them a good workout in the next few weeks.

Thoroughly recommend these boots.... and the boot fitting advice instore!

 

 

 
Excellent Quality/Comfort
Reviewed By , 19 Apr 2013

Lace locking feature is very good, and also has the loop on the heal to help pull them on.
Good grip and comfortable. I highly recomment the Salomon Brand as our familiy has several pairs which are superb quality.

 

 

 
Brilliant boots
Reviewed By James, 01 Apr 2013

I was persuaded to try the boots by a girl in Cotswold Chichester.

I did not want to because: a) they are French and: b) they are not made of leather.

In the shop I realised because of the way the laces are configured the boot hugs around your foot really well. So if you are wearing thicker or thinner socks you can compensate.

I am usually a 9 and mine are a 10 which fit generously but snugly. They are probably closer to a 9 to 9 1/2 in other shoes.

I took them to Austria last Summer. Superb. Continue to wear them for hiking in UK and walking dog in South Downs. I know it sounds strange but sometimes when I'm walking along one of the prevailing thoughts that comes to me is "by Gum my feet are so warm and comfy".

So far they have proved resilient and waterproof and I am taking them back to the Austrian Alps this June.

By far the best boots I have ever owned.

 

 

 
Amazing!
Reviewed By Richard, 27 Mar 2013

I never thought a pair of boots could offer so much support, be so light and so incredibly comfortable. After a year of knee and hip pain, 3 months in these boots has made all the difference to me and I am now enjoying walking again. It has been a long winter so far, but my feet are warm, dry and happy. Many thanks to the staff at Chichester Cotswold for taking the time to listen to what I wanted, and the time to make sure I got exactly what I needed.

 

 

 
Great Boots
Reviewed By Charles, 26 Mar 2013

bought these because I need some new boots that had some ankle protection. These are great boot. They fit well, are light and the extra ankle lock-in loop help keep the ankle in the boot.

 

 

 
perfect so far...
Reviewed By James, 18 Mar 2013

These may not last a lifetime but I'll be happy to replace these with the same boot in a couple of years, perfect shape, support etc & wearable right out the box, a dream for me who's been persevering with a full leather solid Scarpa boot for 4/5 years & never had a moments comfort from it. Theses technical trainer based boots are the future as far as I'm concerned, suddenly looking forward to the hills again.

 

 

 
Best boot I've had to date.
Reviewed By Lewis, 13 Mar 2013

I bought these boots in Glasgow Crow Road store and so far happy with purchase. Having read customer reviews and not really knowing what I was looking for (16 years old and off to South America for a month). They do feel like big slippers but at the same time I feel that my ankle is well supported. The real test will be when I am on my trek but I am confident that they will stand up to the challenge ahead!

 

 

 
Not Impressed
Reviewed By A, 10 Mar 2013

I brought these to replace an older pair of Salomon boots. The reviews swayed me into getting them.

It is true they are super light and extremely comfortable but after just 18 months they let water in, not sweaty feet kind of water but full on wet feet from just walking through long grass. An eyelet for the laces has also ripped out and the soles have worn very quickly.

I won't be buying another pair.

 

 

 
Great walking boots
Reviewed By Richard, 25 Feb 2013

These boots are so comfortable, like wearing thick socks and that's straight out of the box.
Extremely comfortable even after many hours walking. Completely waterproof. Very warm. The tread on these boots is very impressive, i've had no slips or slides even on wet and slippery rocks.Highly reccomended

 

 

 
Excellent boots at a great price
Reviewed By Tom, 09 Feb 2013

This boots are simply excellent!
They are supportive but lightweight making you feel agile on your feet.
The lacing system is very secure, your feet dont move at all.
The Gore-tex keeps your feet dry and breathing.

Even more impressive, was the advice/fitting service for these boots in the London Leyden st. store, they were very helpful and gave good advice.

All-in-all very impressed!

 

 

 
Very comfortable and light, but not very robust
Reviewed By ian, 30 Jan 2013

I have had these boots for nearly 6 months, initially I was very pleased as they fit my narrow feet very well and very very comfortable and light. But the waterproofing only lasted a about a month and now after nearly 6 months the leather parts are starting to crack up. I have looked after the boots reasnably well and for this price I would expect them to be much more robust.

 

 

 
Fantastic hiking boots
Reviewed By Jan, 30 Jan 2013

Initially, I approached these boots with some caution. Don't get me wrong, they look great. But I grew up with avid hikers who all swore by leather uppers and Vibram soles. Thus, these Solomons looked more like cross-trainers (high ones) to me at first. However, once I put them on, it became very clear just how competent a boot this is. Unlike their more traditional leather competitors, the Solomon's are lighter and they hug the foot beautifully. They are also well padded and very warm, even in snow. And of course, thanks to Gore-Tex, they are fully waterproof and breathe fantastically. Finally the grip is great for rocky as well as more slippery terrain. Highly recommended!

 

 

 
second year
Reviewed By peter, 18 Jan 2013

did 800 kms continous trek,carrying 20 kg,in spain and a few weeks here and there in scotland and wales just before the snow arrived. 2013 leaving soon for year long trek

I am used to a full on mountain boot,and my feet loved these light weight boots,thinking of buying another pair whilst the price is still ok...noticed a lot of the mountaineers also have a pair...

 

 

 
Excellent allround boot
Reviewed By Neal, 17 Jan 2013

I was recommended this boot by Nicky the manager in the Brecon store. She provided an excellent fitting service and was very knowledgeable. The Boots themselves have so far proved to be very good in wet marsh and deep snow without wet feet and were comfortable out of the box.

 

 

 
Lightweight but supportive and comfortable
Reviewed By Graham, 13 Jan 2013

I bought these in advance of doing the Everest Base camp trek and have now used them on a few training walks in all weathers. The lacing system is really good and enables a very good fit with great ankle support for a soft boot. They are comfortable from day 1 - no breaking in required. I bought mine a full size larger than my shoe size and wear with a liner and trekking (thick) sock - they are comfortable all day. Overall, an excellent 3 season boot, the sole is too bendy for crampons but that's the trade off for general comfort!

 

 

 
Best shoes/boots I've ever had!
Reviewed By Michael, 05 Jan 2013

I've owned 4 pairs of Salomon trainers that I wear all the time but I needed some new walking boots and I thought, as I find the trainers very comfy, I'd try the boots as they're based on the same technology. I wasn't disappointed!
Comfy, grippy, warm and dry. Awesome. If you like the trainers, you'll love the boots!
Money well spent.

 

 

 
A Great Boot
Reviewed By Mary, 31 Dec 2012

Great Style and available in half sizes unlike some boots. Narrower fitting suits my feet. The locking laces make putting on easier. Good support and grip. All round great support and grip. The excellent help and advice from the guys in Brighton shop was invaluable in getting the right fit.

 

 

 
Excellent Boots
Reviewed By Guy, 30 Dec 2012

Bought the predecessor to this model 3 years ago, and as they have finally come to the end didn't hesitate in buying the new model. These are again proving to be extremely comfortable from the start, light and great anywhere..

 

 

 
Shoes shouldn't feel this good!!
Reviewed By , 29 Dec 2012

After approximately 8 years of wearing my beloved North Face trainers into a mangled mess I persuaded the missus that it was time I be allowed to buy a new pair. To my surprise she agreed! So in my shocked state I headed to the Peterborough branch of Cotswold with the intention of buying another pair of North Face Hedgehogs.
And then.... I saw them! Shining out to me like a beacon. "Pick me!" They cried from the shelf. "Don't be daft" I replied. "I am a North Face man." But, perhaps just to humour the shoes or maybe in a moment of weakness I did try them on. It felt like my feet had finally come home . The shoes were so comfortable and welcoming.
I have worn these shoes nearly every day for four months through nearly every weather condition (except snow) and they have never let me down. Not a drop of water has seeped through the shoes even when walking through long grass and deep puddles.
So please, if you need a pair of boots, do your feet a favour... buy these!

 

 

 
These boots are awesome!
Reviewed By Martin, 21 Dec 2012

These boots are truly awesome! I find them very comfortable and are easily at home in all that the walking in the UK can throw at them. I tried my on at home for about 30 days before my first outdoor walk and in that time my feet and boots quickly settled in which made them ready for all my outdoors adventures. If you're new to walking and you're after a pair of boots then these are great. The quality is what you would expect from Salomon and I expect to get many years of enjoyment from these boots. I just need to stop myself wearing them all the time now!

 

 

 
Nice comfy boots but don't last long.
Reviewed By Peter, 18 Dec 2012

I have had 2 pairs of these now, and unfortunately both pairs have failed within 6 months of buying them. First pair the material ripped, the second pair the main boot came away from the sole. A shame really as they are lovely comfy boots and work brilliantly when they are new. I do use them more or less every day to walk my dog, but I maintain them well and don't abuse them and at what I would call a premium price for the type of boot they are, I would expect them to last. On a plus side they have a 2 year manufacturers warranty (keep your receipts!) and the Cotswold staff have always exchanged, and now replaced them without question (with the receipt). I have a pair of Meindls now which are definitely not as comfy 'out of the box' but are getting better with use, and are definitely better built. As a summary I would say the Quests are excellent for occasional users but anyone who covers a lot of ground should maybe look for a better built boot.

 

 

 
Great walking boots
Reviewed By Martin, 09 Dec 2012

I bought these boots on a Saturday and was wearing them by the Monday, putting them to the test over 26km of the brecon beacons in Wales. I am glad to say these boots performed from the start. Comfortable giving the right amount of protection with out being heavy or clumsy. A solid toe stopped me from feeling the shock of smashing my toes on rocks. Plus a snug heel that held my feet in place stopping any unwanted hotspots or blisters. A great lacing system meant the boot felt secure on the feet and I didn't have to tighten up or re-tie once over that distance. These are truly a great boot and a good investment for any hillwalker. I myself am glad I tried these boots and am now a owner of a quality well made set of boots.

 

 

 
Great Recommendation
Reviewed By , 28 Oct 2012

I bought this pair after visiting a local Cotswold store in Central London. The staff was very knowledgeable, interviewed me to find my hiking plans, terrain, and past issues with walking boots, etc. (I get a lot of blisters on the front of the feet). He recommending me these ones and took my size, did the boot fitting and made sure I was comfortable and had it correct the first time by walking on in-shop test terrain model.
Not only I understand more about what kind of hiking shoe is best for me, but I have just returned from climbing Mt. Etna and these are the only boots I carried for the whole week. I have no blisters anymore and hiking never seemed so straightforward.
My recommendation is to visit a local store and buy after discussing with the staff. Its worth a service!

 

 

 
Great - if you get a good pair!
Reviewed By James, 17 Oct 2012

I bought these to replace my Salomon Adventure Trek 7. I am a size 9 in these...well some of these! I tried on 3 size 9's of the Quest and due to the slight variations in manufacture picked the largest size 9. Yes there are quite noticeable differences in the same size. My first pair leaked after 10 months. Cotswold Outdoor were excellent. They agreed to replace the boots. They even gave me the option of having a credit for the boots and buying a different brand. I stuck with the Quest though. It's light, agile and rugged. The high ankle cuff means dry feet and good support. The thin flexible soles mean after a long walk (15+) my feet are a little fatigued. Also when walking on rock I can feel the rock easily through the sole and this can be tiring. Grip on wet rock though is excellent. Grip generally is first class. A broken foot months ago has left me with a sore foot and this is the only boot I found which didn't irritate my sore foot. Some people have complained about achilles pain when wearing these due to the snug heal cup. I have noticed this but it went after time as the boot softens up. A simple heel raise (which Cotswolds would provide free if buying the boot from them) would alleviate this problem. All in all an excellent boot. However questionable quality meaning variations in size amongst the size 9's and the first pair leaking mean only 4 stars. Because of these variations in size I would recommend buying in store picking your exact pair rather than on-line.

 

 

 
Best Boots in the World!
Reviewed By Jamie, 16 Oct 2012

I've served in the military for many years and also hiked around the world but always used leather boots. I went into the store to purchase a new pair of leather boots but was asked to try on these Salomons.

As soon as I put them on I couldn't believe how comfortable they were!! Far and away the most comfortable boot I had ever worn. I went for a size 1 bigger than normal and it has proved to be perfect.

I've done hundreds of miles of mountains in the UK and also summited Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania on the Machame route. The whole while I've never had a blister and not a drop of water has leaked inside the boot.

On Mt Kilimanjaro I seen a number of people wearing the boots and they all agreed that they were the best boot they'd ever owned.

They might not last as long as a full leather boot in the long run but a couple of years of superb walking in-between certainly make up for it.

I can 100% recommend these boots!

 

 

 
great comfortable boot for long hill walks
Reviewed By Richard, 13 Oct 2012

Always had Salomon bought these boots as an alternative slightly lighter weight to my brashers about 6 weeks ago from Cotswold in Guildford. As always got great knowledgable customer service, bought them half a size bigger than normal and glad I did. I have done over 350 klms on the north downs and Miners route Snowdonia in them and they feel great very suportive ankle, strong and grippy sole. They do not let water in even when walking in long wet grass and in all day rain. 100% satisfied well done again Salomon love the orthalite insole.

 

 

 
Perfect for the job at hand.
Reviewed By Steve, 20 Sep 2012

Absolutely fantastic advice and fitting service provided in the St. Albans' store ensured that I walked away into the hills of Snowdonia with the perfect lightweight boot that repelled all that the mildly moist weather and terrain that comes with the same at bay. These boots cleaned up well afterwards also. All in all good value for money and highly recommended (as are the staff at St Albans).

 

 

 
good knowlegable customer service
Reviewed By Richard, 09 Sep 2012

I have had my current pair of saloman walking shoes for about 5 years they are light and very comfortable but worn out now after many many miles. I have been looking for the past 6 weeks to replace them and have done a lot of research and decide to stick with salomon. I had visited a few other stores but when in Guildford yesterday I went to the Cotswold shop and got very good knowledgable service. nothing was too much trouble and after trying 3 pairs I decided on the Quest boot, I had spent about 1 hour in the shop and the staff were very helpfull. I think in theses very tought times it is very inportant to get good service from someone who cares and know their products. I shall use them again. I am now looking forward to many long walks with my Salomon boots, I will write another review in six months time on the boots. Well done Cotswold.

 

 

 
Great - except after they get wet
Reviewed By Darren, 06 Sep 2012

These boots were great to start with - light, comfortable, tough - however, although they are apparently watertight they take days for the outside to dry out when wet and if you don't dry them in natural sunlight any humidity will also give you a problem.

 

 

 
Strong, light and comfortable
Reviewed By , 27 Aug 2012

I just bout these for my husband for his birthday and he is delighted with them- very supportive in ankle and toe area, strong and light.

 

 

 
New Boots
Reviewed By Alan, 15 Aug 2012

These are the first walking boots I have had that are not"all leather"and that was a big shift for me!
It took some time to find the boot with the best fit and that was down to knowledge of the in store staff and their patience to help me get it right.The boots fit like a glove and feel light on the feet while also offering very good ankle support.Easy step in and out of boots and simple lace up.Now looking forward to the miles ahead

 

 

 
Great boot if you are not walking in wet grass
Reviewed By David, 08 Jun 2012

I wear walking boots every day to walk my border collie at least 5 miles over very varied terrain.

Brasher stopped making my favourite boot so I thought it was time to try something new. I settled on the Salomon Quest and for several months and many dog-walking miles they were fine.

A dry winter and spring lulled me into a false sense of security. As soon as the grass in the meadows grew and got very wet, the boot started leaking.

On our recent walks around Richmond and Reeth the weather was awful, and even with the added protection of gaiters and waterproof trousers, the boots let in water and for the first time in many years my feet were left shredded and blistered. These walks were not very taxing and did not involve wading streams or walking through bogs. They let in water when walking through long grass.

Once wet, the boot simply would not dry out and now seem to let water in if you walk down the street and step in a puddle.

In summary...great boot in the dry. Useless in the wet!


 

 

 
Get good advice and try first - Excellent boots
Reviewed By Andrew, 11 May 2012

I'm not the easiest to find comfortable boots for. I exhausted the boot range and patience of boot advisors in Peterborough, Nottingham and finally my local shop in Norwich. The expert advice was invaluable and found me these excellent, comfortable boots. "Take them home and try them, any problems bring them back and talk to us". I did. Found my feet swell as they got hot and comfort was compromised as the boot was too good a fit. Went back, talked and tried, half a size bigger I walked out a happy man. Had them long enough now to know these are great and comfortable out of the box. The most important lesson was get advice and buy from the shop, not get advice and try and save a few quid by scouring the Internet for a percieved bargin price. You can't put a price on the service I got from the Cotswold advisors AND I have some great fitting comfortable boots at the end of the process. Don't rush the important decisions and get what you want, great boots that fit well.

 

 

 
Would Recommend These Boots To Anyone
Reviewed By Kieran, 21 Apr 2012

I bought these boots for use in my Expedition in Peru and they were amazing. These boots offer good ankle support and are very comfortable. They don't take long to break in and are worth every penny. The grip was great and stayed waterproof even in the rain forest. Not a heavy boot. A clear recommendation to anyone.

 

 

 
best boots I have owned
Reviewed By Paul, 13 Feb 2012

I have been after a new pair of boots for a long while and have been putting it off as have been unable to find the right boots until I tried these Salomon 4D GTX's in store, they were a perfect fit, light and comfortable, would recommend to anyone.

 

 

 
Great boot, great fitting service
Reviewed By Karen, 01 Feb 2012

I am a woman who now wears mens boots! Since my second child my feet grew a size and a half, I was a bit shocked when it was suggested that I try these boots, but they are great, Very comfy and supportive and surprisingly light. Love them.

 

 

 
Stunning boots to the summit of Mt Kilimanjaro
Reviewed By mark, 10 Jan 2012

These are simply stunning boots, that I cannot rate enough at how the helped me summit Mt Kilimanjaro. The climb goes through the 5 climatatic zones from Sub Tropical to Artic (-26 at the summit!!)Ankle support & grip is amazing, whilst they never let any skree in the boots on the decent nor did I suffer any coldness of my feet with simply trekking socks on at the summit. A truely perfect pair of boots,just make sure your sized by an instore expert & bed them in. 17hrs trekking in 1 day, not a blister or rub!!

 

 

 
Really great service and great boots
Reviewed By REBECCA, 06 Jan 2012

I had my first experience of Cotswold fantastic customer service. The employee was knowledgeable and helpful and took their time in helping me find these boots. I'm really pleased with the boots they are so comfortable and reasonably priced, most impressed.

 

 

 
Great boots - very comfortable
Reviewed By Paul, 26 Nov 2011

I've had problems finding boots that are comfortable (ankle pain) and have favoured shoes in the past. These boots are excellent - very comfortable. Went to the Holborn shop - Dave the manager really knew his stuff and took plenty of time to measure both feet, find right boots etc - best customer service I've come across in a long time. Won't be shopping anywhere else now!

 

 

 
excellent service excellent booties
Reviewed By Andrew, 08 Nov 2011

Sturdy, comfy, light and lovely to wear. Laces stay tight with locks and they are great from out of the box. Would recommend to anyone. Had to drive to a different shop to get correct size but staff were great in both shops, thanks.

 

 

 
Not for Scotland
Reviewed By Paul, 06 Nov 2011

After 3 long trips in Scotland its 'So-long Salamon!' for me.

Once these boots get wet inside raw and bloody feet will follow within a couple of days.

I was quite positive during several days of variable weather on the Cuillin ridge in Skye. But once I reached the bogs of Knoydart I realised this was no 5 star boot.

 

 

 
A First Class Boot!
Reviewed By Moffat, 05 Nov 2011

A HUGE thanks for Dennis of Cotswold Betws-y-Coed - Royal Oak who recommended this fantastic boot. I can't speak highly enough of the service I was given by the whole Betws-y-Coed team, but especially Dennis. Thank you!

 

 

 
Excellent boot
Reviewed By Nigel, 26 Oct 2011

This is my second pair of Salomon boots and again, I'm not disappointed. They are absolutely excellent, comfortable and totally waterproof. Although I bought them primarily for light walking, I'm taking them to the Lakes next month and I anticipate some excellent days out. Many thanks to Cotswold Durham for their patience whilst I tried on different pairs!

 

 

 
Very very comfy
Reviewed By Rory, 12 Oct 2011

I got given a pair of these by someone who had worn them once and found they didn't quite fit, too late to return them.
Wore them to the Lake District and got them absolutely soaked over a few days, they kept the water out admirably until a river crossing when I really should have taken them off.
Not one blister afterwards and I was well out of practice, stayed very comfortable throughout and never felt heavy once. A real pleasure to walk in after the clumpy old things I used to use.

 

 

 
Converted
Reviewed By james, 08 Sep 2011

As a die hard leather shod hill cowboy I am a bit sceptical when it comes to fabric boots but after much deliberation and persuading by my better half and also some very good advice from the Cotswold employee I decided to give these a chance.I bought them at the Boucher Rd store in Belfast and took them out the following week on a gruelling 10 mile trek through the Mournes on a very bad day.I gave them the hardest time possible with plenty of water,mud ,bog and boulders and I have to say they exceeded all my expectations.They performed brilliantly for the first time out and are definetly the most comfortable boots that I have ever owned.Full marks to Salomon and of course Cotswold outdoors.I am converted!!!!!!

 

 

 
Great First Boot
Reviewed By Joshua, 30 Aug 2011

Great Boots, Currently training for a charity trek, and have done quite a few miles in them now. Recently went to wales, it rained a lot my feet stayed dry the whole time. Cant fault them, good in the hills and very comfy.

 

 

 
Fantastic boot
Reviewed By Graeme, 19 Aug 2011

Bought these boots to walk the West Highland Way. They are an extremely comfortable boot to wear right out of the box. Good ankle support and locking lace system is a help. I completed the walk with no issues at all when others around with far more expensive boots suffered blusters. All in all an excellent buy.

 

 

 
Brilliant!
Reviewed By ambrose, 12 Aug 2011

Very light and comfortable, what more do you need in a boot??

 

 

 
Probably the best boots in the world
Reviewed By , 28 Jun 2011

I brought these boots 6 months ago to train for the three peaks. THey were supper comfortable from the day I took them out of the box. Great ankle support with good grip on the sole. I completed the challenge last weekend and amazingly didn't suffer any issues with my feet thanks to these boots, Can say the same for my legs

 

 

 
Great first pair of trekking boots!
Reviewed By Adam, 27 Jun 2011

As a novice trekker I got these after advice from Cotswold staff. They are very light, comfortable and durable. Highly recommended!

 

 

 
Are you on a quest for a good boot?
Reviewed By , 23 Jun 2011

I buy my boots for general purpose everyday wear. The first pair I bought were Supertrek 6, they were very lightweight and the price of a pair of trainers. I bought the second pair because I liked the first pair so much. Now I have the third pair. My experience of Salomon boots is that they are light and comfortable, they support and protect the foot very well. The GTX liner breathes to keep your feet cool in summer and keeps out the wind chill in winter, especially on the bike! They are versatile, what more could one want?

 

 

 
Excellent boots
Reviewed By Beverley, 02 Jun 2011

My old Salomon's were getting a bit fatigued; sole and heel starting to come away, so I decided to opt for a pair of new Quests. Extremely comfortable straight out of the box and had no problems on an initial 14 mile walk around Lochnagar. My only complaint would be the depth of sole which is not quite as deep as my old Salomon's which results in feeling loose stones through the sole; could be a bit stiffer/deeper, or perhaps I should have gone for a different boot. Otherwise well pleased.

 

 

 
Best pair yet...
Reviewed By Andy, 02 Apr 2011

I purchased these boots last october / november as I had seen such good reviews of this brand on Gadget show previously with Brian Blessed. What a fantastic purchase, these boots are comfortable, secure, warm and such good value... Gortex sees the insulation and waterproofing sorted, u can literally walk through rivers in these. The lace locking devices are great if you don't secure the knot correctly. You do still need a good pair of walking socks as well. You will not regret these and will last and look good for years due to the materials used. I am currently looking at shoes version for everyday wear as they are so comfy...

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…

The Knowledge: Choosing the right boots

Choosing the right boots is critical to ensure you enjoy your outdoor pursuits. Learn what to look for including leather vs. fabric walking boot.

Find your nearest store