£115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

 £115.00

Product Code: 33110363

Colour:
  • Black / Black / Bright Blue
  • Detroit / Autobahn / Bright Red
  • Dark TT / Clover Green / Titanium

Size:

Size Guide
26
Last pieces available

Select a size to show the available delivery options.

Delivery and Returns

Check availability in your local store

Fast and light hiking shoe for mixed trails

A fast and light hiking shoe designed for mixed trails, the X Ultra GTX provides exceptional stability and comfort over tricky terrain. The tried and tested Contagrip sole offers excellent grip when the weather isn't quite so dry and the Gore-Tex lining gives protection when you can't dodge the puddles.


FREE UK DELIVERY on ALL orders 19th - 21st September 2014


FREE RETURNS to any Cotswold Outdoor store

Product Features

  • Weight: 840g
  • Water resistant textile
  • Low cut profile for freedom of movement
  • Gusseted tongue
  • Lace pocket
  • Protective rubber toe cap
  • Mud guard
  • Sensifit system to cradle foot
  • Quicklace for secure fit
  • Gore-Tex Performance Comfort Fottwear lining
  • Non marking contragrip outsole
  • Advanced chassis for motion control and energy management
  • Molded EVA for next to foot cushioning
  • EVA shaped footbed
  • Ortholite sockliner

As an alternative, you may prefer.....

Need help choosing? The Knowledge will help you find the perfect product

15 Customer reviews for this product

 
Very Comfortable and Great Traction
Reviewed By John, 12 Jun 2014

I have owned a pair for 9 months now. I initially was skeptical about the lacing system and fit however after a couple of days delighted with them. I hardly have them off my feet as they were excellent in winter keeping my feet dry and very comfortable to wear even in warmer conditions.

AS mentioned I wear these A LOT and only negative is that the sole is beginning to show signs of wear and tear to the degree that I am starting to feel more stones now than previously. Overall great shoe and would definitely buy again.

 

 

 
Great fit and comfort
Reviewed By Colin, 30 Apr 2014

Exceptional service from very knowledgeable sales advisor at Castle Lane, Belfast store, careful foot measurement and plenty of comparison with alternative products. The shoe itself was very comfortable from initial wearing but I can foresee some issues with the laces as previous reviews have pointed out. Very satisfied at present.

 

 

 
Think Carefully
Reviewed By Ian, 04 Apr 2014

A brief review, having owned Salomon GTX for ~18 months.

Pros : relatively light; comfortable & supportive; durable.

Cons : there are some significant design faults, all relating to the kevlar laces, which are abrasive :

1. They quickly wear out the plastic 'cleats' on the laces themselves, resulting in the laces slipping and the shoe loosening on your foot.

2. Despite Cotswold stating that laces would be replaced, if required, for the life of the shoe, this has not been easy (the first replacement involved a member of Cotswold staff attempting to 'weld' the end of the laces together using a cigarette lighter, but kevlar and nylon melt and burn…).

3. Of the eight eyelets on each shoe, six are metal. The two nearest the toe are a nylon loop, which the kevlar laces eventually cut through as they are abrasive. Result : shoes that are still perfectly usable that have to be thrown away of repaired. Cotswold has not been helpful and have directed me to Salomon.

4. Replacement laces are not always available - I have been waiting for a week for another replacement pair, and am having to chase Cotswold to get some into stock, even offering to pay for them.

The kavlar laces and quick tighten-release mechanism seemed like a good idea, but I would most likely avoid next time. Great idea, poorly executed.

 

 

 
Stylish light weight action shoe
Reviewed By Chris, 06 Nov 2013

I took advice from the very knowledgeable shop assistant at the Orpington store whilst looking at other shoe options. These have been great right from day one. Light and comfortable. Goretex liner works well and so does the novel lace system( pull, lock and tuck away) I have worn in all weathers and the soles grip on all terrains.
Finally I like the style and flash of colour. Why are the ladies shoes always colourful and all the men's one fawn colour ? More products for metrosexual walkers please !

 

 

 
Light and comfortable
Reviewed By Dilwyn, 30 Jul 2013

I've have had these for a few months and are used daily to work. I work in the outdoor industry and am constantly on my feet. They are incredibly light, comfortable. They have kept my feet dry in heavy rain and cool on sunny days. By far the best approach shoes I have owned .

 

 

 
Comfortable approach shoe
Reviewed By John, 12 May 2013

These approach shoes are very comfortable and light. I have been wearing these everyday now since I bought them as they are so light,comfortable and tough. I have had them in all weathers and they have stood up to everything I have thrown at them. I would certainly recommend these and the brand of Salomon as they are a truly quality brand.

 

 

 
Superb trail shoe
Reviewed By Matthew, 14 Apr 2013

I have had these for three months now and really love them. Comfortable and come in half sizes which is helpful. The grip is excellent and the quick lace makes them quick and easy. There is also a little elasticated pocket to tuck the lace system away so it doesn't bounce around. Love them!

 

 

 
The best Approach Shoe
Reviewed By karl, 17 Mar 2013

I have 2 pairs of Saloman's X Ultra GTX shoe and they are wonderful. Quite simply the best approach shoe on the market. Well made , extremely comfortable and keep those feet nice n dry. Don't waste time even looking at another shoes.

 

 

 
Simply the best!
Reviewed By Gregor, 08 Mar 2013

For my first pair of approach shoes I wasn't really sure what to expect but I have been blown away by the sheer quality, comfort and versatility of these shoes. I wore them every day for 7 weeks in Peru (Inca Trail included), have worn them up ice covered munros, through feet of deep snow, played rugby in them, and wear them to walk to work every day and they just deal with whatever terrain/conditions I throw at them with no qualms whatsoever. Salomon, I take my hat off - these shoes are awesome! It's just a shame they don't go well with a suit otherwise I'd wear them all the time!

 

 

 
First Salomons
Reviewed By Robert, 28 Feb 2013

Could not believe how comfortable these were straight out of the box, was a bit concerned with the lacing system but should not have been, they really pull up and make a lovely snug fit all round. the guy in the Guildford branch was very knowledgeable and helped with direct comparisons of other shoes. now walking on air, I recommend these shoes especially in the sale!

 

 

 
Tough but comfortable shoe
Reviewed By Terry, 23 Feb 2013

Went to buy the X Ultra in the sale but liked the look and colour of these.need to take a size bigger than normal if worn with thicker walking socks. Solo comfortable and do not pinch toes if sized upwards. Walked the dogs tonight (first wear) and feet and toes really appreciated these new shoes.
Great product again Salomon.

 

 

 
Awesome multi purpose shoe
Reviewed By Gareth, 27 Aug 2012

I got these shoes as a general shoe for wearing casually and trail walking with the dogs, have been so impressed with them have used them on a multi day (very wet) mountain bike trip. I have also been forced to recently pair these with a pair of yeti gaiters on a 2 day Duke of ed Supervisor training as my boots let me down. They performed exceptionally.

 

 

 
Comfortable and Light
Reviewed By Ben, 21 Aug 2012

Fantastic shoe put it on and instantly felt Comfortable in them went out for a walk after it had been raining and my feet stayed dry and they were relay easy to clean.

 

 

 
Well made shoes
Reviewed By Paulius, 07 Aug 2012

Really well made shoes. Survived 3 rainy & muddy days at Silverstone GP and my foot stayed dry. After 1 hour of cleaning they look like new again. Highly recommanded.

 

 

 
Slick Saloman's
Reviewed By Karl, 17 Jun 2012

Lightweight , extremely confortable and keep your feet dry. Excellent approach shoe.

 

 

The Knowledge - We're here to help

Find your nearest store

For expert advice, tips and more…

The Knowledge: Choosing the right boots

Choosing the right boots is critical to ensure you enjoy your outdoor pursuits. Learn what to look for including leather vs. fabric walking boot.

Find your nearest store