Online exclusive
The Kittiwake Press Walks on the Clwydian Range No Colour
This product is not available

The Clwydian Range is a chain of undulating hills running between the Vale of Clwyd and foothills of the Dee Estuary in North East Wales. The Range runs south for 22 miles from Prestatyn and the coast to Nant y Garth pass and Llandegla. At its centre is Moel Famau, with its distinctive ruined Jubilee Tower – a landmark for miles around. In 1985 it was designated an Area of Outstanding Natural beauty and in 2011 it became part of an extended Clwydian Range and Dee Valley AONB. Lying within it are Loggerheads and Moel Famau Country Parks.

The Clwydian Range offers a diversity of high quality landscape scenery, including heather moorland, open green hills, limestone crags, woodland, river valleys, and rolling farmland. It also contains many important historical and archaeological sites from pre-historic times to the more recent industrial age. Most notable are the six impressive Iron-Age hill forts, one of the highest concentration in Western Europe. It is a superb walking area offering panoramic views. Running through the full length of the Range is one of the most scenic sections of the Offa's Dyke Path National Trail.

This revised third edition of this book explores its diverse scenery and rich heritage, incorporating the Offa's Dyke Path from Prestatyn hillside to Llandegla. There are 22 walks.

  • Author: David Berry
  • Format: Paperback
  • Publisher: The Kittiwake Press
  • Publication date: July, 2013
  • ISBN13: 9781908748119
  • Pages: 40
Product Code: S1654086